Marrow (Tarryn Fisher)

22253643


In the Bone there is a house.

In the house there is a girl.

In the girl there is a darkness.

Margo is not like other girls. She lives in a derelict neighborhood called the Bone, in a cursed house, with her cursed mother, who hasn’t spoken to her in over two years. She lives her days feeling invisible. It’s not until she develops a friendship with her wheelchair-bound neighbor, Judah Grant, that things begin to change. When a neighborhood girl, seven-year-old Neveah Anthony, goes missing, Judah sets out to help Margo uncover what happened to her.

What Margo finds changes her, and with a new perspective on life, she’s determined to find evil and punish it–targeting rapists and child molesters, one by one.

But hunting evil is dangerous, and Margo risks losing everything, including her own soul.


I’ve had this review stuck in my drafts since the day I finished this book. I have the hardest time hitting SEND. I wish I could put into words what Tarryn Fisher does to a person and that persons heart. She never writes a book the same way and each book brings out a different element and emotion.

b70daf81facc77585a9a093c03aa07db

I don’t ever really know how to put my thoughts and feelings after reading Tarryn’s books into words. This book was no exception. She leaves me gutted and so many emotions pumping through my heart and veins that I can’t think straight for days. Stop whatever you’re doing and read this book. Meet Margo because she’s a unique creature who is destined for much greatness.

74b0de2a8dfad37f91712c7919c0e8d9

MEET MARGO. She’s eccentric and crazy, baby. She’s hungry for vengeance and her hunger is like ten packs of wolves. She has a crazy mother, an absent father, and a best friend named Judah who sees all the good in her and all of the good that we want to see. While there are people in this world terrified to get what they want or give people what they deserve Margo hits play and goes and gets the shit done. Think of it this way, while you are sitting here reading this or surfing the web and inside you are so pissed off about the kidnapped child that is headlining the news, Margo is ten steps ahead of you with a plan of vengeance in mind. Don’t act like you don’t like crazy chicks who are headstrong and know what they want. Come on now…

AND the tie with Mud Vein ummm..WINNER WINNER.

I’ve read this book two more times since finally being ready to post my review and I think it is safe to say that I still can’t really elaborate on this darkness and yearning for such a powerful book. My head still hurts from all of the answers I want but isn’t that what makes Tarryn’s books so special?

2 thoughts on “Marrow (Tarryn Fisher)

Leave a Reply

