Under the Influence (L. B. Simmons) 

IMG_0996


Dalton,

I loved you once. A love I thought irrevocable. A love I mistakenly believed could transcend both time and circumstance. Under the influence of my dimwitted, naïve, traitorous heart, I became intoxicated with what I now know was simply a figment of my self-indulgent imagination. So drunk on the feeling, I couldn’t see what was right in front of my face. So foolishly enamored, I blindly followed my heart into the depths of an emotion that would ravage me. 

Years later, I know now what I wish I knew then. I am stronger. Smarter. Tougher. I will not allow myself to be broken again. 

I loved you.

I raged for you.

I wept for you.

And now, I’m letting you go.


Shut. Up. I loved this book so hard. Then again, I love those books that rip and shred your heart up and shake it around then cram it all back together and just shove it right back in your chest.
I love Spencer.  I love Dalton so damn much. And I hurt with them and loved with them. But boy did I hurt. Part two of this book was so freaking hard for me to read. I felt like I just went thru my high school break up all over again.
under-the-influence_2
This book is different from anything else I have ever read. It doesn’t have a broken girl who needs saving or fixed. Spencer is head strong, independent, and very charismatic. Most importantly this book gave me hope that there is a love out there that can fix every broken piece in a person. 

SO, I just have to say this again. I. Loved. This. Book. It was precious to me and is a story that will stick with me forever. L. B. Simmons writes so magically and heartbreaking you can tell that she is just a beautiful person inside and out. This book was a gem of a read. She wrote a book that gave ME hope. And made ME believe in a true love and soul mates. She made ME believe in second chances and fate.  
Under-the-Influence-2
So if you love feelings when you are reading a book do yourself a favor with this book. 
Leave a Reply

