Burying Water (K.A. Tucker)

18687114


Left for dead in the fields of rural Oregon, a young woman defies all odds and survives—but she awakens with no idea who she is, or what happened to her. Refusing to answer to “Jane Doe” for another day, the woman renames herself “Water” for the tiny, hidden marking on her body—the only clue to her past. Taken in by old Ginny Fitzgerald, a crotchety but kind lady living on a nearby horse farm, Water slowly begins building a new life. But as she attempts to piece together the fleeting slivers of her memory, more questions emerge: Who is the next-door neighbor, quietly toiling under the hood of his Barracuda? Why won’t Ginny let him step foot on her property? And why does Water feel she recognizes him?

Twenty-four-year-old Jesse Welles doesn’t know how long it will be before Water gets her memory back. For her sake, Jesse hopes the answer is never. He knows that she’ll stay so much safer—and happier—that way. And that’s why, as hard as it is, he needs to keep his distance. Because getting too close could flood her with realities better left buried.


For some reason, K.A. Tucker’s book always pull my attention in and I don’t come back out until I am finished. BUT, its only her first two books in the series that do that to me. I read only the first two books in the Ten Tiny Breaths series and now I don’t even want to go on and read the second book in the Burying Series (and I usually finish what I start). Don’t get me wrong her story lines are amazing and the first books are always impeccable but, eh. I don’t know.

I hate the feeling of rushing through a book. I hate feeling like I have to push myself through a book. I don’t necessarily feel as if I HAD to do it with this book but I did it. I mean it wasn’t terrible by all means. BUT WHAT ARE YA GONNA DO ABOUT IT? Whats done is done and you just have to move on.

This book took off from the start. Jane Doe wakes up in the hospital severely beaten and has no recollection of what happened to her or who she is. Renaming herself Water because of the little tattoo that she found on her body, she’s offered a room at a ranch and starts to rebuild her life one day at a time, but she always stays aware that her present is totally temporary, completely contingent on whether or not she remembers her past.

“I’ve felt like a live wire, exposed: just waiting to make contact with her so I can pass this current through me, so she can feel it too.”

I like how K.A. Tucker intricately weaved the chapters from the past/present into each of the two characters POV. I always love getting to know both of the prominent characters. They are connected some how, but its takes some time to figure out how but don’t worry, you will be pumped with excitement on your journey to discover the truth.

“Something tells me Jesse is the kind of guy that I can always count on. My gut must be telling me that I had someone just like him in my previous life. Someone I trusted.”

I’ll admit, when I finally find out the truth and things start getting figured out holy shit it hits you hard and fast. But I liked it. And I loved Jesse. What he stood for and what he believed in was amazing. I feel so close to this story and the characters that were created for it. Life has thrown me some shitty cards too and I got through it with the help of a special person also.

“Regrets have a tendency to spread when you tie yourself to the wrong person.”

11399931

“He said the truth is like that water: it doesn’t matter how hard you try to bury it, it’ll always find some way back to the surface. It’s resilient.”

I am not going to run and pick up the second one right away. I have it on my book shelf but I like knowing that I can take her books one at a time. They usually never have a cliffhanger and it is exceptionally nice to pick up more stories and information on the surrounding characters and friends. So, one day, I will make it to Becoming Rain…but in the mean time, I am content with Burying Water.

c3782cb71f66e3b04653458719f7f16a

Leave a Reply

