True Love Story (Willow Aster)


Sparrow Fisher is transforming. No longer dressed up in antiquated clothes and ideals, she is finally trying on her freedom.

Before she moves to New York City, she meets Ian Sterling, a musician Sparrow has dreamed about since she first saw him. The attraction is instant, but their relationship isn’t so simple.

Over a five year span, Sparrow and Ian run into each other in unusual places. Each time, Sparrow has to decide if she can trust him, if he feels the same for her, and finally, if love is really enough.


Now let me just start off by saying that I have NEVER read one of Willow Aster’s books that I haven’t liked. I Loved Maybe Maby. Devoured In The Fields. But I straight up POUNDED this story. I bought it, opened it up, and did not stop until I was completely DONE. The angst in this book was at a whole other level. And the intensity was turned up the entire book. Who freaking cries in the middle of a book? ME THAT’S WHO.

“It’s been a year, two months, and seventeen days since I last saw him. Two years, ten months, and five days since he broke my heart – well, since I knew that he had broken my heart.
Technically, he began breaking my heart the moment I met him, five years, eleven months and one day ago.”

The book begins in the present when Sparrow Fisher accidentally bumps into her ex, Ian Sterling at the airport. They share something intense, it’s so obvious but their past is even more intense. Naturally, Ian broke Sparrow’s heart in some way shape or form and it is terrible (we do gather that much).

After you get a taste of their present you get to shift way back to the past and you learn how they met and how they fell in love. The relationship grew slowly but it was so beautiful. It was probably one of the most realistic “book relationships” that I have ever read about. Okay so since this is my book blog I get to voice my opinion. Sparrow and Ian are so perfect together. And so perfect for each other. She’s pure and so full of positivity and life and he is the stubborn and older one. They have the funnest relationship I could even imagine. As they were falling in love with each other I was falling in love with them also. With them, their story, their qualities, their relationship. It was all so beautiful. Even when they went so long without seeing each other they pick right back up to where they started and don’t even miss a beat with each other.

But then…77% into the book and BAM. My freaking heart….GONE.

I threw my Kindle and I wept. A lot. And I hurt. A lot. Okay sooo I seen it coming. I knew it but maybe I was in denial and I just didn’t want to believe it? Who knows, all that matters is that it hurt so bad. And it sucked. God, I was so mad. Especially the last 25% of the story. My emotions were out of this damn world. I can’t tell you how it ends. You may like it and you may hate it. I can’t tell you how to react but just know that there will be a reaction. A LOT OF THEM.

I think I cried more in this book then I did laugh. And usually it’s the other way around but nope. Willow killed this book. And me along the way. Watching all of the characters evolve is always one of my favorite thing about reading and they changed so much. But it was in a positive and radiating way. A way that every person wishes to grow at one point.

“Love is enough.
Love does conquer all.
Love really does always protect, trust, hope, persevere…
I’d even go as far as saying that love never fails. I finally believe that.”


So if you haven’t read this captivating and angsty story why are you not one clicking it yet? I have said it before and I will say it again. It’s in my top 5 of all time and I will stand by that until proven otherwise. It was one of those stories that stays with me ALL THE TIME. I am always thinking about Ian and Sparrow. Replaying their story and it’s the only book I have read more than 6 times.

 photo tumblr_mi2wx94wiL1r3gi71o1_500_zps2b91bd88.gif


One thought on “True Love Story (Willow Aster)

Leave a Reply

