Gus (Kim Holden) 


  This is the story of Gus.  Losing himself.  Finding himself.  And healing along the way.  “ … but the honest-to-God truth is I don’t even know how to function anymore. Bright Side wasn’t only my best friend; she was like my other half … the other half of my brain, the other half of my conscience, the other half of my sense of humor, the other half of my creativity, the other half of my heart. How do you go back to doing what you did before, when half of you is gone forever?”


This was AMAZING. Pure awesomeness. When I read Bright Side I fell in deep. I cried more than anything in that book. But most of all I wanted the best for Gus. I wanted his happily ever after. I wanted his closure. And Kim Holden supplies us with that. I really loved Kate. Truly did. But Gus hit me hard. You get to watch him hit rock bottom after Bright Side and you get to watch him heal. If you read Bright Side and you’re anything like me you really wanted that closure and healing for Gus. I wanted it so bad. You get to see Keller and Stella. And you get to love Audrey even more than before.  And who doesn’t love the Bright Side posse? I DID! I highlighted page after page after page. I know I usually post quotes in my reviews from the story but honestly I can’t do that with this one. I would have to post the whole book. Gus is Gus. I can’t sit here and describe him to you. I guess he’s just epic.  I feel like Kim felt obligated to write this book so that those of us who had a hard time getting over Bright Side could finally adjust and move on with our lives and she executed that. Knowing the Keller and Gus and Audrey and even the band got to have that peace makes me happy.  I’ve already told her how thankful I am that I got my own closure so if you’ve read Bright Side go pick up Gus and be epic again. If you haven’t read Bright Side then please don’t talk to me until you have.

Leave a Reply

