Captive in the Dark/Seduced in the Dark (CJ Roberts)

817i94mRXmL._SL1500_2bb5e424f5301abcacf0cfe2b5c47afabd719078


Captive in the dark 

Caleb is a man with a singular interest in revenge. Kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery by a power-hungry mobster, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. For twelve years he has immersed himself in the world of pleasure slaves searching for the one man he holds ultimately responsible. Finally, the architect of his suffering has emerged with a new identity, but not a new nature. If Caleb is to get close enough to strike, he must become the very thing he abhors and kidnap a beautiful girl to train her to be all that he once was.

Eighteen-year-old Olivia Ruiz has just woken up in a strange place. Blindfolded and bound, there is only a calm male voice to welcome her. His name is Caleb, though he demands to be called Master. Olivia is young, beautiful, naïve and willful to a fault. She has a dark sensuality that cannot be hidden or denied, though she tries to accomplish both. Although she is frightened by the strong, sadistic, and arrogant man who holds her prisoner, what keeps Olivia awake in the dark is her unwelcome attraction to him.

Seduced in the Dark: 

The exciting, titillating, and action-filled conclusion to Captive in the Dark. What is the price of redemption? Rescued from sexual slavery by a mysterious Pakistani officer, Caleb carries the weight of a debt that must be paid in blood. The road has been long and fraught with uncertainty, but for Caleb and Livvie, it’s all coming to an end. Can he surrender the woman he loves for the sake of vengeance? Or will he make the ultimate sacrifice?


Every once in a while I have to submerge myself into a more darker book than what I would originally read. I feel like I should open my mind and explore a world of something else besides love and heroes/heroines. A book where love isn’t the center point of the whole story. A book where the characters have issues just like other people have issues. Their issues may be more far fetched or worse but none the less, I like the challenge of reading something different. And thus began…

“Caleb was a strange person, cruel and inhuman; a monster, but at other times, he seemed so capable of something like caring. He made me cry and scream and shake with fear, and nearly a split second later he could make me almost believe he wasn’t responsible for any of it.”

“Your entire life is going to change. You should try to accept that, because there is no possible way to avoid it. Like it or not, fight it or don’t, your old life is over. It was over long before you woke up here.”

The book starts with Livvie waking up from a drug-enduced sleep to find herself captive in the dark (ha. ha. you get it?) She is tied up by a man that calls her “Pet” and “Kitten” who demands her to call him “Master” (umm, no thanks?) Livvie gets her eyes opened to a dark world (no pun intended). The weirdest part of all is she starts to some how develop feelings for her captor. Can a monster trained his whole life change his ways and change the way his heart is set? Or better yet, can the audience be willing enough to let themselves go into this sinister world that CJ created and also experience all of the things that she wants you to experience through her writing and her vivid imagination?

Here are a list of feelings that I felt during these books (in no particular order, of course.) Anger, fear, I was scared, and then I was happy, I felt so much love, and I cared about the characters, I sympathized them, I down right hated them. I felt lust and probably whatever else you might think of. This book did that to me. CJ Roberts did that to me. This book will open up SO MANY emotions you wont even be able to keep up. On another note, I am very excited that I read a book about a strong girl. I couldn’t handle another Anastasia Steele or what’s her face from the Bared to You series. Livvie was consistent the whole way through the book. She didn’t start out weak and require Caleb to “mend her broken ways”. She was feisty and head strong and who doesn’t love a woman like that? I had my mind set that as I went into this book I would not like Caleb. Who in the hell kidnaps someone and does the things they do and then uses the validation “I had a terrible up bringing” to get the revenge he wants. That doesn’t really fly with me in the real life world because guess what, every one has shitty past at one point but okay moving on from that subject. CJ Roberts MADE me fall in love with Caleb. It wasn’t by choice. It was because of her flawless writing and the ever evolving characters that she created. I thought it was all pieced together perfectly and the words flowed together so magically.

The subject matter is dark. The people are even darker. There are no filtered scenes or dialogue. You get what you get and it is far from PG. And also, how in the hell is it possible for an author to make you love a character so flawed and dingy and fucked up and UGH!?! I thought it wasn’t possible for me to even consider it but I think that’s what makes CJ and her work so great. I thought her writing style was flawless. Like, Tarryn Fisher flawless. That’s a huge compliment.

I was reading quite a few reviews on both of these books. I rather enjoy reading every one elses opinions on the books I read ONLY when I finish said book. Most women found it to be very terrible that anybody would write a book about the subject matter that is written about because wait for it, I know. RAPE IS NOT A JOKE. Not in any way shape or form do I approve anything along those lines. If you like to do some dirty things with your spouse or significant other I will never condone you for that. But lines get blurred (in my opinion) when pain gets mixed in with pleasure. If you don’t want to read about rape that’s fine. Don’t pick this book up. Go read something else. If you don’t want to read a book about Stockholm Syndrome or a man with a tough “uprising” that possible gets his chance at redemption that’s fine too. Nobody is holding a gun to your head making you do it. But if you like to read outside of your comfort zone and open your mind then I would give this book a try. I felt very disturbed at times and I was also very repulsed but I like to steer clear of clichés. I like broadening my interests and this book did just that.

She wrote a third book. It furthers Caleb’s epilogue. I didn’t read it. I was very much satisfied with how CJ wrapped up the second book and so very in love with the ending that I didn’t feel as if I needed to proceed with the third. That doesn’t mean that it wasn’t worth it though.

“…he stood me up and pressed my head to his chest, rocking me back and forth gently. I gripped him tightly, both arms holding fast to his waist. It had become natural for me to seek shelter in his arms, even if he had just used then to hold me down and spank me….It wasn’t enough to fuck my body, he wanted to mindfuck me too. It was working.”

“He was the monster no one thought to look for in the light of day. It was a common mistake. People often believed they were safer in the light, thinking monsters only came out at night.”

 

Leave a Reply

