Beautiful Sacrifice (Jamie McGuire)

A1 MLJh3995 L SL1500


Falyn Fairchild can walk away from anything. Having already left her car, her education, and even her parents, the daughter of the next governor of Colorado is back in her hometown, broke and waiting tables for the Bucksaw Café. After every shift, Falyn adds to her shoe box of cash, hoping to one day save enough to buy her a plane ticket to the only place she can find forgiveness: Eakins, Illinois.

The moment Taylor Maddox is seated in Falyn’s section at the Bucksaw, she knows he’s trouble. Taylor is charming, breaks promises, and gorgeous even when covered in filth—making him everything Falyn believes a hotshot firefighter to be. Falyn isn’t interested in becoming another statistic, and for a Maddox boy, a disinterested girl is the ultimate challenge.

Once Falyn learns where Taylor calls home, everything changes. In the end, Maddox persistence is met with Falyn’s talent for leaving, and for the first time, Taylor may be the one to get burned.


Everytime I read one of Jamie McGuire’s novels I know I am in for a ride. Every time a new Maddox brother book comes out I want it immediately. She got me hooked on the New Adult genre with Beautiful Disaster. In that book you get to fall in love with Abbey and Travis but then you get all of the brothers in each book that you pick up. They are all in the same time frame, just different stories. I hate books that are a “series” but follow different characters from the original book but I always stick with this series. I feel myself get surprised each and every time. This is the first time I have done a review for one of her books because I feel as if they would be too consistent and too repetitive. ALL of her books are good. She doesn’t even have a single terrible one. Moving on. Every time I pick up one of her Maddox Brothers books I think to myself “there is NO way I can love this brother more than the last.

new books photo 3124630_zps9b4eeeb0.gif

“His only fault was that he was too nice trying to be everything for everyone, often making him late and overwhelmed in the process.”

WRONG. Taylor took the cake easily this time for me. He was perfect in every conflicted way. I liked Falyn because i noticed so much of myself in her. She’s stubborn, foul mouthed, hard headed, and compassionate. She, of course, is battling demons of her own (of which we learn of pretty quickly). And WOW! How everything is tied into this story it’s so perfect and I cannot believe I didn’t see it coming. Ecspecially after having read her other books. You don’t see any of it coming. At. All.

“It means you’d better hold on tight. Guys like him don’t give up easily once they’ve found a girl like you.”

“You can’t really be in love without being a little crazy.”

This book was more on the angsty side. Neither of them could catch a break. You get not one OMG moment but THREE. And they are freaking doosies. Falyn has wrote off her parents and has worked hard to provide for herself and Taylor is an out of town fire man who leaves quite the impression on Falyn. I felt the attraction from reading Jaime’s words and I think that’s what makes her so great and more importantly what she aims for. I didn’t high light as much in this book but I loved it all the same. The title says Beautiful Sacrifice and that’s what the book is about. It’s gritty and emotional and in your face and I loved it.

I know that it must be getting harder for Jamie to make sure she gets each story line perfect for each brother. I get that. I wish I could stress to her that she is doing it all right. I am always ready to tackle whatever she has to offer us. This book had a Confess (CoHo) vibe to me and I enjoyed that. I read reviews after I read a book and I only seen about three good reviews on Good Reads. I am confliced but I won’t start in on that. If you support and read every book by the same author consistently I can’t understand how you can write such a review. I am not saying you HAVE to like the book and that you HAVE to leave a good review but give credit where credit is due. Personally I thought it was one of Jamie’s better books. Its right up there with Beautiful Oblivion in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

