Broken By Lies/Bound By Lies (Rebecca Shea)

I like to do my reviews for series together just do I don’t have to break anything out into a lengthy review. I will post when I start with the second book, just do no one has to have anything ruined.


20527380

I had no idea how much I would love Alex the day he walked into my life.
He changed everything.
The way I breathed.
The way I thought.
The way I loved.
He brought me back to life.
He gave me strength and a safe place to land.

And then he broke me.

Finding Emilia was a chance to do something good for once in my life.
I wanted to change.
She believed I was her savior.
I ached to be.
She found her way into my heart and claimed it as her safe place.
I should be telling her the truth about me…instead I break her with lies.


Okay, I have read Rebecca Shea’s Unbreakable series and I thought she did very well with that book. But I have to say, she slayed this series. Her story line and her writing is always so flawless. I don’t really expect anything less of her. I also liked that there is a few different POV’s in these two books, giving us the complete details for a suspenseful read. At some points I could predict what was going to happen but there were some interesting twists that I really liked. Both Emilia and Alex are likable characters.I even thought that Sam was a very likable character. I felt like Emilia and Alex were good with each other and they complemented each other very well. On the down side, I felt as it the relationship moved super fast? i could be wrong. The first book ends with a cliffhanger, so I am very excited that I waited until the second book was released. I feel as if the author could have added another 100 pages and kind of spread the story out. I felt like everything went way too fast. That or I really enjoyed the story.

“The feeling to protect and care for a beautiful stranger that I just met scares the living shit out of me.”

After tragically losing her mother, Emilia leaves out to Phoenix, Arizona to find her biological father. She is alone, with hardly any money at all, and did not establish a plan for any of her trip. Emilia runs into Alex, who in return offers her a place to stay and be a “roommate” until she gets on her feet. Alex is quite taken by Emilia and in return, Emilia falls for Alex. Emilia, however is not aware of what Alex does for a living and she makes Alex see a life that he never though he deserved. Their feelings for each other bloom and that in turn, places her a heaps of trouble. I think Alex is  good for Emilia and I know his intentions are well with her. BUT is he a good man? Everything that Emilia knows about him turns out to be a lie.

“God, she’s beautiful. Everything about her is pure—good, and for every moment I’m with her, I want to be a better man, a man she deserves. But under the desire to do good, lives a monster.”

I thought the book was quite the journey and the whole package. I got the feels, I got whiplash, you get some angsty feelings (my fave), and you get quite a bit of action. Awesome book and awesome author. I am moving on to my review on book two so if you want to stop…STOP!


23565785

Torn between two men; one was what I needed, the other was what I wanted.
One man was safe and the other was dangerous.
But both men would lay down their lives to save me.

ATF agent Sam Cortez is fighting to bring down the Estrada family empire, which was built on murder and corruption.
Alex Estrada did what was needed to keep me safe…and paid with his life.

Starting over as I try to rebuild my life, it’s clear that the past is never what it seems.

What no one knew was that we were all bound by lies.


Never fear the cliffhanger at the end of book one because HOLY SHIT! The second book trumped the first book. Because every single chapter you read BAM pow BOOM something new and exciting! Now we get Sam thrown in the mix and I loved it and I loved him ( not as much as Alex but you get the picture ). Freaking fantastic. Way to go, Rebecca. I breezed through this shit in three hours FLAT! So exciting.

OKAY SO, Alex, is he alive? Will Sam save Alex or leave him for dead? If Alex is alive does this mean that that are going to war over Emelia? OH and Emilia, how is she dealing with the lies, what’s been going on with that home girl?  BUM BUM BUM BUMMMM!! THE AGONY!! Just dont worry because you get all of those questions answered AND there is no cliffhanger because she slayed this one. I am happy with the way it ended. It’s all that I had wanted. And I am so happy with the story line, the plot, the characters and yes you get it. Kick ass, Rebecca. Kick. Ass.

Leave a Reply

