Five Stages of Falling in Love (Rachel Higginson)


Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.

Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days.

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death.

I tried. Really I tried. I have heard so much about this book, even people that I knew loved this book. I just couldn’t get with it. I didn’t even finish it. At about 55% I stopped. And I didn’t even regret it. I had five stages of this book also but they weren’t the same as Liz’s. My 5th stage was “DONE. I. CANT. EVEN. FINISH.” 3 star book for me and I didn’t even have to finish it to see how it ends.

The writing wasn’t terrible and Liz’s situation and feelings felt real to me but I just wasn’t drawn in enough. There was nothing there that I connected with. I just ended up upset because I would catch myself thinking “OMG what if my husband died?” How sad, right? You can’t enjoy a book when you are reading stuff like that, ugh. The characters didn’t project much feels to me and I didn’t shed a tear. At all. In the first 50% of the book I felt like she went back and forth with Ben way too much. I understand that she was grieving, but even a year later she was still going back and forth with Ben. I felt like both men (Grady and Ben) were portrayed as “too perfect”. I like flawed characters. I like the hardships and the baggage that characters come with. Oh well, live and learn. Moving on to the next one…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s