Nocte (Courtney Cole)

23312692


My name is Calla Price. I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole. My other half—my twin brother, my Finn—is crazy. I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me. I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day. So I reach out for a lifeline. Dare DuBray. He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me. He has the power to destroy me. Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt. Why? Because of a secret. A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming. You won’t either.


Well this is a big WTF! BUT in the best way possible. A few girls from my book group on FB recommended this to me and I was desperate for a change from romance and this was phenomenal. Nothing will make you feel crazy quite like this book will. I had goosebumps the entire time. Non stop. Not even kidding. People kept telling me about a twist and how much like Never Never it was but more intense and amped up. I was afraid it might be a paranormal or a romance or a thriller but I don’t think it fits into any of those genres. It’s definitely different than anything I have read.

Okay so here is what I want you to know about this book….

Seriously. Because even the smallest of details can be the BIGGEST freaking spoilers. DO NOT research the book. DO NOT go looking for spoilers. Just get it and read it. The book is that intense and that cleverly woven together and twisted and brain = mush. The story had a creepy and eerie dialog to it. The setting was creepy as hell even the weather was creepy AF but everything was executed perfectly. I think the author has done a great job of completing a very nice and terrific idea.

“By night, I am free. No one hears my monster but me. My freedom is fragile, though,
Because every morning
The night is broken
by the sun
It’s a good way to die.”

There’s also an amazing dynamic between Calla, her twin brother, Finn and the guy she’s obsessed with, Dare which keeps you on your toes and flipping the pages as you try to piece the entire puzzle together once and for all.

It’s not a standalone. Hence the trilogy that is mentioned so there is a cliffhanger. And when I say cliff hanger, I mean a big fat freaking lose your mind cliffhanger. At the end of the book MOSTLY everything clicks for me. I freaking get it! The blurb for this book is absolutely brilliant and her letter to readers was incredible. It got me in the right kind of mind set for this read. And the cover? To die for. I want the paper back on my shelf. Very complex story. Very well written. Very pleased with how wonderful and different it was.

“There is nothing quite so terrifying as the descension of the human mind into insanity” – Calla Price 

“It’s like my mind was a rope, splintering and unraveling until it was hanging by a thread.” – Calla

^ yeah. What she said.

“Secrets. Everybody’s got ’em.” – Dare DuBray

Leave a Reply

