Verum (Courtney Cole)

23482622


The truth shall set you free.

My name is Calla Price and I’m drowning.

My new world is a dark, dark ocean and I’m being pulled under by secrets.

Can I trust anyone? I don’t know anymore.

The lies are spirals. They twist and turn, binding me with their thorns and serpentine tongues. And just when I think I have it figured out, everything is pulled out from under me.

I’m entangled in the darkness.

But the truth will set me free.

It’s just ahead of me, so close I can touch it. But even though it shines and glimmers, it has glistening fangs and I know it will shred me.

Are you scared?

I am.


“The end is the beginning,” Finn yells. The end is the beginning. Don’t you understand?”

Well I will be damned. If I thought I lost my sanity in Nocte it damn sure got annihilated in Verum. My mind and my heart were glass and Courtney picked up a hammer and smashed it into smitherins like it was no big thing. If there is one thing I know for sure about this book it’s that I know absolutely nothing. Like, at all. I am still literally running in circles chasing a tail I’ll never catch. I feel like my brain is really letting me down with this book. This book turned me into a certified crazy. If I wasn’t screaming obscenities I was flinging my Kindle across the room.  These books may a quick read, but there’s nothing easy about them. Bottom line.

The way Courtney wrote in this book painted a vivid picture for my brain and I felt I was going crazy right beside Calla. Nocte answered a couple of questions for me but Verum left me with about 7027 MORE questions. There’s too many details for me to pick apart and dissect. With this book I had to read for thirty minutes and then stop and stare into space to try and let my brain catch back up. She created this perfectly executed mind game to keep every single one of us glued to our books/Kindles/iPads, breathless, exhausted, confused, frustrated, intrigued, and just completely emerged in a story like no other book that I have ever read. A kind of story that stays with us, plays out in our heads over and over again, trying to untangle itself, only to leave us even more confused, with a headache, and 5 hours of sleep GONE. (I might know this from experience)

I felt like I belonged in a corner or a padded room with a straight jacket. I felt like my mind just wasn’t following me and I was getting so angry at myself. KEEP THE HELL UP, clueless brain!! I have my theories, just like you will develop your own theories. I wish I could share them because I feel like if I just let it all go and breathe than I will feel so much better but, you know, spoilers and all. Boo. I don’t even know what’s real anymore. I couldn’t think straight for two days.

description

“I’m floating in an ocean of insanity. It’s just ahead of me, so close I can touch it. But even though it shines and glimmers, it has glistening fangs and I know it will shred me.”

“I feel like a lamb, and he’s a wolf. But at the same time, I feel like he doesn’t want to be. He’s caged, when he should be wild, and I don’t think he knows what to do about it.” 

“Dare kisses me and his lips are sunlight. He touches me and his fingers are the moon. It’s night somewhere, and by night we are free.” 

description

This is exactly what I looked AND felt like when I finished Verum. Sooooo, you guys have fun!! If you want to be boring wait until the third one is out in August/September but if you are a little dare devil go ahead and start now!!

Leave a Reply

