Priest (Sierra Simone)

25507389


There are many rules a priest can’t break. 
A priest cannot marry. A priest cannot abandon his flock. A priest cannot forsake his God.

I’ve always been good at following rules. 
Until she came. 
My name is Tyler Anselm Bell. I’m twenty-nine years old. Six months ago, I broke my vow of celibacy on the altar of my own church, and God help me, I would do it again. 
I am a priest and this is my confession.


Sometimes I like to mix things up and the hype about this book was so intense. I wanted to go for something hotter. Smut, basically so I pre-ordered Priest and was so freaking pumped about my purchase and my decision. Some girls I knew were reading it and enjoying it so I just knew there was no way I could go wrong with this one.

Father Tyler Bell has been a priest for the last three years. He’s young and charming and smoking hot and he never thought of breaking his vows to his church or religion until Poppy comes in for confession. Tyler starts questioning everything he has strived to become. Does he stray from his flock for the girl? And is this forbidden love worth his sacrifice of himself?
description
It was taboo and erotic and all around different so I really wanted to try it out. It was hot and steamy but I don’t really like the instalove type of thing and I felt as if everything was rushed. The writing was also kind of questionable in my opinion. At some parts, I really enjoyed it and felt like she wrote really well but other parts confused me and I wanted to skip over them. All I am saying is I don’t really understand why Authors want us to think that people really fall in love like that in just a short couple of weeks. I mean, what if he leaves his underwear laying in the middle of the floor? What if, oh I don’t know, he’s freaking bat shit crazy? (Or her)By being in Tyler’s head I can’t believe that he was a priest. I don’t know if it was his thoughts or his actions but I didn’t feel like he struggled enough. He did what he wanted. NO REGRETS. He was too stuck on his CHURCH than he was his religion or his faith.

description

NOBODY FEELS SORRY FOR YOU, Poppy. She had this perfect life growing up and she was spoiled and did what he parents asked and then moved away for……….REALLY? How original. She drove me bonkers. Bottom line. I felt like it was her only goal in life to seduce Tyler and make him miserable. I felt like she had no depth and was very two dimensional. Throughout the book I couldn’t even grow to like her a little bit. Maybe it was just because it was because the story is told only in Tyler’s POV. I didn’t feel connected to her in any way, shape or form. But had the book been partly told in her POV I would have been willing to bet I would have had something to try and connect to her with, but ya know…I didn’t write the book.

 photo facepalm gif_zpsf4e3eay0.gif
I don’t feel like this book was all that it was hyped up to be. It wasn’t terrible by all means but I feel like a lot of things could have been done differently. Now all that aside, I still read this book in one day, believe it or not. I enjoyed the writing style immensely and the book was quite entertaining in the sense that I just kept waiting for what was going to happen. While it lacked a few things to make it a 4 or 5 star read for me like it was for every one else, it was still a very solid 3 star book for me. I really did like the book. But would I read it again? Nope.

Basically I’ll just never look at catholic priests the same way ever again.

Leave a Reply

