Consequences


Every action has consequences.

Waking in an unfamiliar bedroom in a luxurious mansion, Claire Nichols is terrified to discover that a chance encounter led her into the cruel hands of her abductor, Anthony Rawlings. Claire has no understanding of why she’s there, but it’s been made abundantly clear–she is now his acquisition and every action has consequences.

Learn the rules to survive.

Facing incomprehensible circumstances, Claire must learn to survive her new reality–every aspect of her livelihood depends upon the tall, dark-eyed tycoon who is a true master of deception. Driven by unknown demons, he has no tolerance for imperfection, in any aspect of his life, including his recent acquisition. Anthony may appear to the world as a handsome, benevolent businessman, but in reality Claire knows firsthand that he’s a menacing, controlling captor with very strict rules: do as you’re told, public failure is not an option, and appearances are of the utmost importance.

Captivate the captor.

To fit together the pieces of the puzzle, Claire must follow his rules. Will her plan work, or will Anthony become enthralled by Claire’s beauty, resilience, and determination, changing the game forever? If that happens, will either of them survive the consequences?

Nobody ever did or ever will escape the consequences of his choices.–Alfred A. Montaper


I am going to be very honest, this was a very strenuous read. I felt like I just kept pushing and pushing myself but the strange thing is: I enjoyed some parts of it. It was long, yes. It was tedious at times, yes. Consequences was a sinister mix between Gone Girl and FSOG. This book is a lot to take in and had I had my brain screwed on tight and/or the right way I would have probably enjoyed it much more. All the girls in my book group and a few others that I talk to outside of FB helped push me through this book but it just wasn’t there for me. It’s a 500 page book and about 400-450 pages are tediously boring. Ugh. I literally spent more time thinking about quitting then I did wanting to finish.

I’m not much to tell about what goes on in the story or give you guys a break down and I won’t talk about the scences that had me questioning everything because that will be different for everybody. I want to say that everything that happened in this story was incredible in some sense or some fashion. I see that appearances took a huge part in the book in which it reflects to oneself and/or your spouse. Appearances and Compartmentalize.

The beginning got me interested and then it was like one huge run-on sentence with descriptions about everything but the details I wanted ACTUALLY wanted to read about.The end was a nice change of pace and I liked how everything started to be pieced together but all the hype about the ending made it not as big of a hype for me. Would you guys kill me if you knew I skimmed through all of the last 5 chapters? I felt like I read all of that for nothing and then the last 4 chapters happened. Also, I (clap) DO (clap) NOT (clap) LIKE (clap) WEAK (clap) FEMALE (clap) LEADS. Period. Put a little bit more feisty into that person please or at least an ounce of dignity. I felt like the characters didn’t really have personalities.. I mean there was the part of knowing family pasts and emotions but other than that, they lacked depth. Major depth.

On a serious note, so much of the book was dedicated to fashion and material items and fancy abodes and name brands and how Claire was already pondering about the clothing that belonged to her right after she was kidnapped (who does that after they have been KIDNAPPED?).If I was kidnapped and trapped in a 46 year old guys house I don’t think I could be oohing and awwing over the clothes and the room. I can actually think of a million other things that I would be stressing and panicking about. Not once did I ever feel like she was even FREAKING OUT over her situation. If Claire was afraid, us as the readers were not informed in any way.

description

I will talk about some things that I DID like. I loved the last 10 chapters. I could feel the creepy music cueing and I could feel a huge shift coming. That to me is the best feeling. Knowing SOMETHING is going to happen but not exactly know what. I also found it interesting that the author lets us into Tony’s inner thoughts. There weren’t a lot in the beginning which is understandable but as the book continued, there were more and more brief snippets of insight through Tony’s eyes. Given the nature of the book I thought this was an interesting choice. In fact the only reason I am not convinced that the whole “falling in love” with her part of the story wasn’t a big con and missing puzzle piece is because of those brief pieces of information from Tony’s POV. I could be biased though, I love always getting into the male characters head. Also, the author almost had me sympathizing for Tony on numerous counts. Actually, a lot.

I think under different circumstances I would have really liked the book. I hope that my opinions do not change anyone else’s stand point on the book and the first book is free so I encourage every one else to give it a shot because I know so many people who have loved this series so hard. I am fully aware that I am the minority in the cold cold world of books so don’t judge this book solely on me.

Leave a Reply

