Amber to Ashes (Gail McHugh)


They were a storm I never saw coming, an unforeseen heartbreak on the edge of a dangerous cliff. 

Amber Moretti’s life changes in the span of minutes. An orphaned outsider, she is desperate to start fresh the moment she walks onto campus. In the time it takes to cross the university’s dining hall, she meets two men who bring color, air, and light to her darkened world.

They became my addiction, each a needle to my next hit, my high. 

Brock Cunningham’s appeal is dizzying, a potent force Amber can’t deny. A green-eyed smooth talker, he instantly attracts Amber. It doesn’t take long for him to consume her every thought, her every breath.
Ryder Ashcroft, a blue-eyed, tattooed, and pierced bad boy, turns Amber off immediately—that is, until he kisses her, stealing a piece of her heart, her soul.

They were as opposite as fire and ice, yet I ached for them equally.

Never knowing she could be broken down in so many unexpectedly beautiful yet petrifying ways, Amber finds herself falling for both men.

Immoral? Maybe. I say undeniable. Uncontained. 

But one event changes everything, shattering each of their lives…and Amber isn’t sure she can come back from it.


I just love a good angsty freaking love triangle. The messier the better (unless it’s Molly McAdams then spare me). And in this book Gail delivers head strong and bravely. I’m still thinking and processing all of her words. Two whole days later. They have just stuck with me.


The story is written in mostly Amber’s POV but we are blessed with both Ryder and Brock’s POV along the way which I appreciated deeply. Amber, Brock and Ryder are all very complex and flexible characters and their histories make this story and these people easy to understand (which I appreciate in all books). I was able to empathize with them as they tangled and created a massive web of lies and secrets. This is the kind of story that guts you, ruins you, and has you feeling torn and out of place. This book is one that can and will shatter your heart to pieces but leave you wanting and needing more.

The plot was so damn THRILLING. I had questions and scenarios that just kept stirring in my head and it didn’t play out like any of them but I was okay with that because what WAS created was raw emotions. Raw. Emotions. Everywhere. I felt stripped bare and vulnerable.
I am not torn between two men. I have my mind set and my team picked. The relationship between Amber and Brock, Amber and Ryder, Amber, Brock, AND Ryder is lust, insane, complex, funny, twisted, obsessive, passionate, confusing, and intense. They take and take all of each other from each other (if that makes sense).
Amber was okay. She wasn’t so terrible that I DNF. I just learned to cope with her and it turned out to be easier than I thought it would. She wasn’t my fave, but I liked her because of what the boys brought out in her.
Round of applause for that cliffhanger though! I think it will set the sequel up real nice be quite the shit storm.

Hey Gail, that’s what the title of the sequel should be. Shit Storm. Thank me later.

Leave a Reply

