Carnage (Lesley Jones)

20645941


I love him, from the instant I set eyes on him when I was just 11 years old I have loved him and nothing will ever change that, he owns me, he owns my heart and he owns my body and no matter how many lies are told, no matter how many people conspire to keep us apart, despite the fame and the distance, we will find a way.

“Georgia Rae, when we made love you used to cry” … He waits for me to sing my bit. I try to swallow down a sob but I just end up singing through it…
“I said I love you like the stars above, I’ll love you till I die”

Carnage is an edgy coming of age love story that breaks all the rules and transcends the decades. Georgia and Sean’s story will stay with you long after you read the final word.
An emotional, smoking hot, gut wrenching read.


I haven’t read a book that has screwed me up (mentally and emotionally) so terribly since the Dusty Innocents series. WHAT A DOOSEY. Until I read Carnage. This is the first time I have had a really hard time putting words on here.

My favorite books are the ones that make me feel them and experience them with the characters and there’s no doubt that Carnage hit the nail on the head. I felt like I was on an emotional roller coaster the whole way through. I held my breath at the end of most of the chapters. I enjoyed some amazing highs and some real shitty lows.

I really feel like Lesley managed to create believable and realistic drama in Carnage. She creates such a story that was intense without falling in to the “I have to make more drama just because!” trap..

 photo That-Was-Bloody-Brilliant-Ronald-Weasley-Gif_zpsb284274e.gifYou think you know the ending of this story, you just know. After everything Georgia and Sean go through you think you have this ending nailed. SPOILER ALERT: YA DONT. Not sorry, you just don’t.

First let me just say that just because this book didn’t make me cry, doesn’t mean that it didn’t wrench my heart just a little bit. There are some scenes that I choked up on and I could feel my anxiety rising. Has anyone figured out that I love angst so bad yet?

All I can really say is that I was seriously expecting this book to be what it was. My advice is to avoid all spoilers at all costs. Go into this blind. Experience what the author intends and just let it happen. Deep breaths and Xanax are a requirement. Not many books can shock me but this one did. I was a crazy mess yelling obscenities at my kindle. I guess I really am crazy.

Leave a Reply

