The Paper Swan (Leylah Attar)

25797013


They say it takes 21 days to form a habit.
They lie.
For 21 days she held on.
But on Day 22, she would have given anything for the sweet slumber of death.
Because on Day 22, she realizes that her only way out means certain death for one of the two men she loves.

A haunting tale of passion, loss, and redemption, The Paper Swan is a darkly intense yet heartwarming love story, textured with grit, intrigue, and suspense. Please note: This is NOT a love triangle.


When you highlight the first paragraph of a book you know it’s going to be a damn good one. My heart. It just hurts. Everything hurts.

“People plug into you, and when they’re gone, you stop working for a while. You have to reconfigure yourself, rework your wiring, so you can get out of bed in the morning.”

When I first started this book I had no idea where it would lead me. I had no idea if I would be into a more darker, violent book or a more “omg I love you forever don’t ever leave me book.” With every page I was going down deeper with Skye and Damian. I fell in love with the turn of every page.

“Once you’ve been loved by a man like Damian, once you’ve been branded and molded in the fires of that possession, you will never be moved by tepid, imposter kisses.”

Raw. Raw. RAW. All of this book was raw. From the vengeance to the revenge to the hurt, all of it. Just all of it left me feeling so vulnerable.

“It’s not over you know. It never has been, he said. “Whether you say yes or no, you will always be my forever.”

From the phenomenal writing to the gripping story line to the freaking stellar characters my heart might burst. The Paper Swan has an angsty build up and the perfect amount of tension to get you going. It has the perfect mix of dark, gritty, violence and at points, yet packs a freaking mesmerizing love story.

“All I knew was that loving him had shattered me. I would never be able to piece myself back together a second time if I let him break me again.”

Also, I love freaking LOVE Stockholm syndrome. Okay that’s all the spoilers you’ll get from me.

The writing style sealed the deal for me. You got every ones POV. You got years of hurt, love, revenge, and angst. The writing flowed so smoothly and I found myself having a hard time making myself stop. I did however, have to stop. I had to soak in the words. The beauty. All of it. Just perfect.

“Loving Damian might destroy me, but not loving him was killing me.”

CAN WE TALK ABOUT THE COVER? By far the most beautiful cover I have ever come across. It’s tied with Mud Vein for me. That’s saying a lot.

“You don’t always get the treasure by holding on. Sometimes the magic happens when you let go.”

This story will stay with me forever. The words will stay with me forever. Leylah will definitely stay with me forever. Solid, five GOLD stars and so much more. So much love and praise being sent to Leylah.

Leave a Reply

