Collide (Gail McGugh)


A missed first encounter…

Colliding with a second chance…

On the heels of graduating college and trying to cope with her mother’s death, Emily Cooper moves to New York City for a fresh start.

While harboring secrets of his own, Dillon Parker takes care of Emily through her grief. Knowing he can’t live without her by his side, he’s sweet, thoughtful, and everything Emily has ever wanted in a man.

Until she meets Gavin Blake—a rich and notorious playboy who is dangerously sexy and charming as hell. Emily tries to deny the instant connection she feels, but Mr. Tall, Dark, and Handsome is not inclined to let go so easily. Recovering from his own painful past, Gavin will stop at nothing to win Emily over.

This unexpected encounter compels Emily to question her decisions, forcing her to make a choice that will destroy friendships, shatter hearts, and forever change her life


Fun fact about me: I’ve been in a relationship with a guy like Dillion. I’ve been told what not to wear. Who to not hang out with. Where I can or can’t go. So this book hits me at home. But I did make a promise to myself that after this series I would lay off the cheating books for a while. I don’t mind them, but my angsty heart can only take so much.

Please note: you WILL need multiple drinks for this book. drunk animated GIF

Gail McHugh’s writing was sexy, entertaining and completely angsty. She killed it in Amber to Ashes so I bought these paper backs stat. My heart rate was out of control this entire book.

Emily is our heroine here and she moves to New York to live with her college best friend and be close to her boyfriend Dillon. Emily is starting over after the loss of her mother and is excited for a new beginning (on the most part). Most people don’t like Emily. On the contrary, I loved her. She grew up without a dad and she is dealing with the loss of her mother. How would you be if you were dealt the cards she was dealt? Think about it.

Emily meets Gavin Blake (total GD swoon alert) and the chemistry is nuts between these two. Emily finds that Gavin is one of her boyfriend’s friends and so that’s just a recipe for disaster right off the bat.

swoon animated GIF

Emily, I’m with you until the last ten percent. After that you’re on your own, chicka! I don’t know what kind of advice to offer you.

While I am not a big fan of the insta-love (as you guys know) or love triangles, Gail makes it work beautifully while also touching on the serious subject matter of abuse. Whether emotional or physical or mental, abuse is abuse. Bottom line. Her dedication says it all:

“Dedicated to women out there who have yet to find their voice, strength, and courage. Never let them strip you of what you were born with. Take it back.”

She easily portrays the symptoms that often begin with over-possessiveness which can soon lead to more. So thank you, Gail for including this message in your book. I get it. I hope the whole world and women every where get it.

Now I’m going to read Pulse because I want more bottle caps, Yankees, birds, and green mini vans.

Leave a Reply

