Fighting to Breathe (Aurora Rose Reynolds)

25815089


Lea Lamb and Austin Wolf were young when they fell in love. They never imagined the future could hold anything other than together-forever.

When Lea’s father dies in a tragic fishing accident, she’s crushed under the weight of her grief and catches a glimpse of another type of future, one she knows she’s not strong enough to face.

Austin is angry. For the past fifteen years, he’s believed the woman he loved with every ounce of his soul left him without so much as a backwards glance.

When Lea unexpectedly returns to their hometown, all the years of heartache inside Austin bubbles to the surface and presents itself as blinding rage.

Faced with the truth about the past, a newly discovered secret, these former lovers will learn that if they want to have any chance at the future they’d given up on all those years ago, they will have to rescue one another from drowning in pain so debilitating it will leave them both fighting to breath.


Marked another book off my “sitting on my kindle” list. Eh. Nope. Wasn’t that great for me. In fact, I am almost 99% positive that I only bought this book because of it’s cover. Silly. That cover though, It is superb.

It wasn’t a terrible story. It was just a quick read and since it was so short I felt like everything was rushed. Either that or second chance stories are wearing thin on me.

annoyed animated GIF Fighting To Breathe is a story about the emotional journey of Lea Lamb. Lea returns to her hometown after moving away 15 years ago to be by her sick mothers side. But Lea has left a painful past behind her and the moment she is back, her choices come back to haunt her. Austin Wolf was her childhood sweetheart but when she returns home it is obvious that she no longer has that tie with him. Now that she is back she has to endure Austin’s hate. Also I feel like I should note that there was a handful of unnecessary drama in this story. It literally could have done without.

drama animated GIF I have to say that the plot of the story was good. The theme was sincere and heart-breaking at the same time. I think what went wrong for me was the whole story in general. I found Austin’s brief hate unrealistic. It seemed like one moment he was mad at her and the next he was at her every beck and call. This quick transition of his feelings made absolutely no sense and while the book is full of pain and loss, I found myself disconnected from the characters and the story line itself. There was no explosive chemistry. And some of the sexy scenes made me cringe. I didn’t feel attached to any of the characters. In the end I was wondering why the characters went through all that separation in the first place. They were pretty much beating a dead horse.

Yosub animated GIF The writing was good. Some points were a little unrealistic and a little tedious but it worked I guess. All in all it was just okay for me. MEH.

Leave a Reply

