Restless Waters (Jessica Park)

26174821


A storm is coming, and with storms come restless waters.

Pulled from the depths of catastrophe and depression, Blythe McGuire has learned to escape from her past while embracing the future. A future now entwined with the Shepherd siblings.

With Chris, she shares a staggering romance that kicks heartbreak’s ass.

With Sabin, she shares an intense friendship, one that’s becoming more complicated than either had expected. A friendship now being put to the test because Sabin’s brutal past still haunts him. Because trauma is the gift that keeps on giving without mercy.

Now Sabin is the one left drowning and struggling to breathe, and his turmoil threatens to send all three into dark currents they cannot escape. Even after going through her own hell, saving Sabin will take much more than Blythe had anticipated. Their connection and their love could help, but getting him to reach for her hand could be Blythe’s biggest challenge ever.


I got drowned and resuscitated in Left Drowning and as soon as Jessica surprise released this book I snatched it up. It’s no surprise that she basically just threw me in the ocean and made me grapple with my own feelings while reading it. I’ve always been a huge fan and Jessica is always one of my go to authors so my expectations were a little high for this book. I’m sure it was so hard for her to write such a gripping sequel to a book that was so emotional and gripping.

Restless Waters is told entirely from Blythe’s POV even though the main focus is on Sabin. I struggled with this aspect of the book, to be honest and I was hoping for more of Sabin’s POV but it didn’t kill the book vibe for me.
My favorite part of the book was how it explored the tension between Chris, Blythe and Sabin. There’s no question that Chris and Blythe have a fateful love. But we can’t help but notice the connection that Sabin and Blythe have as well. It was apparent from the moment he first stole her coffee at the beginning of Left Drowning (sighhhh). Jessica leaves no question unanswered.

I think that if you read and loved Left Drowning you would love Restless Waters just as much. With the history of these people, there is a lot of healing that still remains and we get a lot of closure for these characters. Jessica writes nothing that is sugar coated. It’s all real and raw. You feel connected and you feel emotions that hurt so good to feel.

* it’s really weird I don’t have any graphics but my phone is strange when I try to post my posts on here.

One thought on “Restless Waters (Jessica Park)

Leave a Reply

