Rock Bottom (RK Lilley) 


Their love had the power of a runaway freight train, and the potential to be just as destructive.
The tempestuous sequel to Bad Things picks up where the first book left off. Reeling from a profound loss, Tristan and Danika struggle to pick up the pieces and build a life together, but the hard habits of a lifetime are not so easy to escape. 

Rock Bottom takes us on a dual point of view journey through addiction and desire, through love and agony, and answers the question we’ve been asking since these characters were introduced in Grounded: “What happened between Tristan and Danika?” 


First off I want to send a quick throat punch out to all the girls who made me read this stupid series. Okay, it’s not stupid but my feelings are! I didn’t know up from down in this one. I had more bad feelings in this book alone then I have in any other book. This book is EMOTIONAL. You have got to be prepared for that. It was like Jessica Sorensen’s Quinton and Nova books jacked up on crack.

“It was my firm belief that to properly mourn the loss of a person, you had to deal with the silence in your head and accept what it turned into when life didn’t keep you too busy to think.”

Danika notices changes in Tristan. Drastic changes and with these changes Danika has to learn to cope with them the best that she can. Tristan has a hard time adjusting to Jerad’s death and I feel like him and Danika use sex as their coping mechanism (which by the way is scorching hot might I add). I love T & D’s intensity. I cannot get over how intense they are. How obsessed they are with each other. I’m so obsessed with it. I’m so obsessed with them.

There is something about the way Lilley writes (that I have picked up on). She creates this raw, destructive, gritty story line that you just can’t look away from. I want all of the feelings and hurt deep in my stomach. I. Want. Them. ALL!

In all fairness there were some annoying moments. Tristan was totally out of control and Danika’s actions to some things were a little off for me but it amped the story up for good reason. There were NO obvious moments to me. Literally, I had NO CLUE what was going to happen next and the dread I felt was unreal.

“There was an anchor, tied around both of his ankles, and it was taking him deep, into black fathomless depths, drowning him slowly but surely. I didn’t tell him that he was dragging me down with him.”

I feel gutted. Impaled. Empty. Sad. Isn’t that awesome? Yes. Yes it is. How can you find someone’s misery and struggle so enjoyable? I have no idea but Lilley executed the fact that I loved the crap that they were dealt with. I thoroughly enjoyed this. In the end there was nothing left but two hearts scattered among the debris of what their love had created.

Leave a Reply

