Lux (Courtney Cole)

 


LET THERE BE LIGHT. 

My name is Calla Price and I’m broken.
My pieces are all around me, floating on the wind, even as I desperately try to grasp them.
Who is dead? Alive? Insane?
What is the truth?
I don’t know.
I do know this: The darkness is strangling me. With every breath, I choke on another lie.
My mind has protected me, but that shield will soon be lowered.
All will be revealed.
Every answer to every question. 

It’s all been leading to this.
Don’t be afraid.
Be terrified.


I am not surprised any more by what Courtney and this series makes me feel. I have learned to embrace the events and embrace the crazy. Calla is crazy, Finn is crazy, Dare is Crazy, WE’RE ALL CRAZY, HEY! Receiving an ARC made me jump for joy but I lost sleep, I had scattered pieces of paper everywhere, and I refused to stop reading until I finished.

 
“Because silence hides an abundance of sins.”

“You should stay away from Dare, though,” she tells me. “Someday, he’ll be your downfall.

Once you open Lux you get to question everything you have read in Nocte and Verum and even Intium. HAVE FUN! You won’t know what is up from what is down. And you’ll want to throw a full blown tantrum until you finally get what you want, much like my 5 year old does.

“I never know never know never know when I’m crazy.”


“May you always have the courage to live free, and the strength to do what is right.”

Questions. Questions. Questions. But guess what; Answers. Answers. Answers!! In Lux we are still following Calla and her confused mind and we are still just as confused as she is. We follow her adjusting to new environments and new altercations. What is the connection between Calla and Finn and Dare? What is even real? I have my theories just like you have yours. Some of these theories I keep locked up with me because they are what makes me happy. They make me balanced and less crazy. Some theories were true and I didn’t want them to be but the outcomes and the answers outweighed all of that.

Courtney writes with beautiful prose. She pulls at your mind and won’t let you go until you are questioning every single persons motives and sanity. Even your own. I wish I could give her the praise that she so much deserves on these books. I can’t imagine the thoughts, the work, and even the brain power she had to use to create us such an intense story and emotional characters.

Leave a Reply

