Letting Go (Holly Renee)

 When Kat was forced to leave the only home she had ever known due to her brother’s secrets, she wasn’t prepared for what was waiting for her in Tennessee or the choices it would force her to make.

Kat instantly knew she didn’t like Blake Reagan. He was cocky, stubborn, and infuriating. What Kat didn’t understand was why she couldn’t stop thinking about him or the way he made her feel.

The last thing Blake expected was for Kat Archer to storm into his world and turn it upside down. He thought he had her pegged from the beginning, but she destroyed everything he thought he knew. Blake was willing to fight to push his way into Kat’s heart, but she put up a wall at every turn as she clung to her past.

If she stayed, she’d risk the only family she had left. If she left, she’d lose Blake and every piece of her heart that he’d managed to steal. 


This book is your typical New Adult book. Girl meets boy. Boy meets girl. Tension evolves. Problems occur. Boy is hero. And so on and so on. However, I received an ARC for it so I read it. Not mention I do love me some New Adult every once in a while, sue me. So we have a heroine (who actually isn’t weak or annoying for once, well for the most part) and we have a chiseled, brooding, and cocky hero with an elusive V cut who was just so lick-able (surprise surprise) the heroine was literally drooling from the mouth. If you give me angst and tension it’s usually all fair game for me. I could live off of that stuff. But all of this stuff that occurred in the book was just typical.

It was a very easy and fast read. I actually read it in maybe 4 hours? Most of the characters I enjoyed for the most part. Most of them were predictable and their actions were predictable but, for a short read it was feasible. Back story of the characters would have been great. Some things are said about certain people and I have no clue who or what happened. I think that in the future I will be anticipating Gabe and Erika’s story a little bit more.

The ending for me felt rushed. All of the events leading up to the ending however were paced just right. I felt like the author was maybe ready to just jump to the end of the story already. Towards the end things got predictable and I might have rolled my eyes  a couple of times. The story is mostly told in Kat’s POV but I enjoyed the little bit that we got from Blake. I am sucker for male POV’s. The TENSION was great. The angst, ehh. It was a pleasant debut book nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

