Quiet Lies (R.L. Griffin)

25990405

I was broken before I met Sebastian Pryor, but he decimated me. I swept the ashes of myself into a pile that I kept safe for thirteen years. Believe me it wasn’t pretty, oh but people thought we were perfect. I hate myself most days. I hate that I feel for him as much as I loathe who I’ve become with him. This story is hard to hear. You know what the worst part is? You’ll see part of you in me. You’ll hate that. You won’t tell anyone.

My story is about cracks. A description or telling of how cracks in a marriage, a life, a personality, a heart and a mind begin and continue for years without anyone knowing. You don’t always see what causes the fissure, but you feel it. Can you remember who you were before all of this started, before your life became a jumble of deceit, longing and regret?

This book isn’t for anyone who needs a happily ever after.

This book isn’t for anyone who needs a fun time out from their life.

This book isn’t for anyone, but me.

This is my story. I won’t apologize for it.


I’m sitting here after just finishing Quiet Lies and I am baffled. And confused. And mad. And impressed. I’m blown away at some great writing, I mean really great writing and I really have no idea what to write for this review so I’m just going to ramble.

This book has so many feels. One of the main feels I felt was how dragging the first half was. You get present time and then you get puzzle pieces of the past. I think what kept me going (besides wanting answers) was the writing. I had so many pages dog eared and so many things highlighted so it was overwhelming. During the middle things sped up and I caught myself wanting to read through it faster. But just because I wanted answers. And all of them, damn it.

Rebecca is superb lead woman because she is real. She is the epitome of a real character. Her depth was out of this world and I enjoyed her unreliability and her twisted story. Sebastian is one of those characters that you can’t stand but he makes the story. This story would not be complete if not for him. So unfortunately I had to tough it out with him.

I didn’t care for how spaced out everything was. If that makes sense. I’m not saying I want the answers all at once but after so much dragging events got spaced out, I would forget things, I missed things, and I hate that. I hate feeling left behind in a book. And at most of the turning points I was left behind.

RL sucks you into an intense and chilling story about lies, evil, and betrayal. You have nothing figured out. Nothing. If you think you do I’m sorry you’re wrong.

Leave a Reply

