Breaking Him (RK Lilley)

 
SCARLETT

It was the kind of relationship where I invested more than I had to spare.
I gave it everything.
And so when it failed, I lost myself.
It changed me. He changed me.
I went down with the ship.
My soul, burnt embers in the aftermath.
The fire of him ravaged it all.
He burned me.
Broke me.
Scarlett had always dreamed big. She was headed straight for Hollywood. Destined for silver screen greatness.
But in her wildest dreams she never imagined she’d be broke and single at twenty-eight, doling drinks at thirty-five thousand feet.
She was a glorified waitress in the skies.
It had been years since she’d seen him.
But one day, there he sat, gazing intently at her, ready to set everything ablaze once more.
Dante wanted her. Again.

Sure, she’d play along…but this time, it was his turn.

She was breaking him.
After all, love is war. 

I could smell the cliffhanger from the first page. I don’t even know why I do this to myself. Now I just wait…


Scarlett and Dante have a rather twisted push and pull relationship, given their explosive tempers, but Dante was a bit more likable to me. Something about Scarlett just drove me batty. Dante was, at times, too childish for me as well. Honestly, grade school Dante was more mature than present Dante. When I was liking Scarlett I wasn’t liking Dante and when I was liking Dante I wasn’t liking Scarlett. See? Push and pull. It was angsty. I love angst.


I usually don’t do series and most people know this. I don’t handle cliffhangers well so please be advised. This was a story I was hooked to yes, but the characters actions were what made it a 3 star read for me. Although I enjoyed their banter and witty comebacks I felt like it went on TOO long. I felt like throughout the whole book I caught myself holding my breath for them to chill out and lay back but their banter overruled everything.

It’s that much bigger part of the story that has me wanting to read the next book. I really don’t care if Scarlett and Dante get a HEA, but I do need to find out why a boy would protect and hurt the same girl and vice versa. What drove them apart? Why are they hurting each other? Why is there a war? WHAT IS GOING ON?

For those of you who love angst, please read RK Lilley. This book was everything I expected from the author. A slow buildup of the story, tons of angst and loads of back story. And trust me, the hate and the rage permeated through the pages. So give me book two because I need answers.

 

One thought on “Breaking Him (RK Lilley)

Leave a Reply

