In the Fields (Willow Aster)


1971—In the tiny, backward town of Tulma, Tennessee, optimistic, bookish Caroline Carson unwittingly finds herself in the middle of a forbidden romance. Severely neglected by her family and forced to flee Tulma to protect her secrets, Caroline’s young life comes crashing down around her. She finds refuge in a new town, but the past always has a way of stretching around time and stirring up trouble.

When a new love comes into her life, she has to decide if she can give her heart to someone else, or if she will always be tied to someone she can’t have

*RE-READ

I read this in 2013. I loved this in 2013. I wanted a reread because I want all of Willow’s books on my blog. I want to talk about them and give them the praise they deserve. Plus let’s face it, if Willow writes it I’m going to love it. I’ve never met a Willow book I didn’t like. I can say that because every single one of hers books haven’t ever been the same. They are all diverse in their own way and that’s what makes an author great.

image

“I fell in love already. I had someone who was everything I wanted. I didn’t get to keep him. And I never got over him.” 

In the Fields follows the life of Caroline during the 1970’s in Tennessee. She is smart, kind and as beautiful inside as she is on the outside. She is also white. Her best friend and later love interest is a very intelligent and handsome young black man named Isaiah. It goes without saying that a racial couple like this in a segregated Tennessee was frowned upon and bound to create a lot of trouble.

IMG_1720
This is a story of prejudice, bravery, perseverance, friendship and love. Also, forbidden love. I eat that junk UP. I love it. I get attached to it. Strong heroine? CHECK. Great hero? CHECK. Dynamic and well developed secondary characters? CHECK

Willow’s writing is smooth and soothing and slammed right into my heart and never leaves. Still to this day. She always manages to pull a ton of emotions out me and before I know it I either have tears rolling down my face or a big, fat smile on my face. Willow is an immensely talented and creative author who sets herself apart yet again with this book. I always recommend this book. I’m always raving about this book. Until the day I die.

Leave a Reply

