Insidious (Aleatha Romig)

 


When a powerful man is willing to risk everything for his own satisfaction, only one woman can beat him at his own game: his wife. Or so she thinks…

“Let’s start with you calling me Stewart. Formalities seem unnecessary.”

Stewart Harrington is rich, gorgeous, and one of the most powerful men in Miami. He always gets what he wants. Anything is available to him for the right price.

Even me.

Being the wife of a mogul comes with all the perks, but being Mrs. Stewart Harrington comes with a few special requirements. I’ve learned to keep a part of myself locked away as my husband watches me submit to his needs. But the more he demands of me, the more beguiled he becomes and that’s to my advantage. So I keep fulfilling his fantasies and following his rules because he doesn’t know that what he’s playing is really my game. And winning is everything, right?


What just happened? What did I just read? This was actually my second Aleatha Romig book and I wanted to give it a shot because I didn’t care for Consequences too much but THIS BOOK…this book was good. This story was so well written and woven together that I just kept reading with my mouth hung wide open wanting more. I didn’t catch my mind wandering off from the pages. I was glued.

description

The plot is basically just about a young woman named Victoria who, to save her family from debt and some other things, signs a contract and marries the wealthy Stewart Harrington. In my opinion, this was not your typical “Alpha”, “Billionaire”, etc. book. I actually found Victoria to be a very strong heroine for the situation she was placed in. I couldn’t complain there one bit. I liked her for the most part and I found her to be very well written. I was iffy with Stewart. I tried to like him, but I just couldn’t force myself to do it. Now, there were some secondary and other characters that I thoroughly enjoyed. They had great depth and they were great compliments to the story.

THAT. ENDING. WHAT. EVEN. IS. LIFE?!?!

 photo 1B880672-8D2E-4842-BB81-51E86CCD82ED_zps0vsw2yuo.gif

I couldn’t figure out if I was terrified of the heroine or amazed by her actions or what but I was just in total awe of a character like her. Aleatha writes with such detail but not too much that it’s over-bearing. In Insidious, she tells a great story and still allows you to think for yourself. She kept me on the edge of my seat and she held my attention every time I picked up the book that’s for damn sure. This is a darker read, and not really “romantic” in a sense. It’s twisted and it’s mind boggling and it was just very enjoyable to me.

 

Leave a Reply

