Pulled (A. L. Jackson) 


For nine years, they drift through life, unable to forget the one who holds the strings to their hearts. In an attempt to escape the pain of her past, Melanie finds herself trapped in a loveless marriage, while Daniel loses himself in a career that means nothing without Melanie by his side. Now, when their lives intersect, neither can deny the connection they felt so long ago. But will the power that drew them together be enough to heal the wounds from their past, and do they have the courage to overcome the insecurities and fears that threaten to keep them apart? Pulled is a story of attraction and separation, of destiny and duty, of a love so strong it refuses to give up even when all others have. 


I love second chance stories. But the way this one was wrote really irked me. For me personally, there were a few aspects of the story that I struggled with. I found it difficult to get into the story and stay with it. There was so much focus on the past and how unhappy Melanie/Daniel were that I found myself wanting the story to end.

Nine years after losing her child and Daniel, Melanie is broken, unable to move on, and clinging desperately to the past (I mean desperately). She’s trapped in a loveless marriage, and is to be at her husband’s beck and call while appearing to be the perfect wife in public.

I skimmed. A LOT. I won’t lie one bit. And I never skim books. I was angry at how a lot of the scenarios played out. One thing I wasn’t a fan of was the constant flashbacks during the first half of the book. The story was consistently flashing from past to present over and over and over again I couldn’t even keep up. It became entirely too repetitive for my taste.

image

I have all of AL Jackson’s books on my kindle. It won’t be my last but this was for sure a solid three star read for me. I have got to get out of this funk, and fast

Leave a Reply

