Barely Breathing (Rebecca Donovan)

18053685

Emma’s struggle with an abusive home life came to a heart pounding conclusion in the final chapters of Reason to Breathe. Now everyone in Weslyn knows Emma’s secret, but Carol can’t hurt Emma anymore. Some are still haunted by the horror of that night, and some must face the repercussions of their choices. Fans of Rebecca Donovan’s debut novel will discover there’s still much to learn about Emma’s life.


*RE-READ/Xanax anybody?

Book two. Two times the hurt. Two times the sorrow. Two times the WTF AM I EVEN THINKING? Am I a masochist? Does this make me one because I am willingly putting myself through all of this again? Maybe. Maybe Rebecca just likes hurting people. Yeah, that’s probably it. I think I will go with that.

“I knew how much Evan loved me. And I knew I didn’t deserve it. But I also knew he was the only one I loved. The only one I would ever love.”

With this second book, you trust Rebecca with your heart and soul and she absolutely does not care. It hurts. You scream. You get mad. She sits back and laughs. The ONLY bad thing I have to say about this one is, the firs 20-30% of this book is slow. Very slow. But the last 70% is so fast paced that you end up just losing track of time. It’s so great!

fangirling gif photo: 371.gif

“I breathed for you… I begged for you to breathe with every breath I gave to you. I kept pleading for you to breathe over and over again. And then… then you did.”

Emma is much harder to relate to in this book. She is mainly just the girl that you love to hate. She’s the girl who makes nothing but TERRIBLE decisions throughout the entire book. But that’s okay because you still feel bad for her and you still want to coddle her. Johnathan is a hard character for me to grasp. I am hoping that once Rebecca releases his novel I will have a better understanding of him because at this point, I have zero compassion and/or sympathy for him. Evan is his usual perfect, loving, understanding self. TOO understanding. A lot of ways he handled situations also irked me but thankfully I was able to look past that.

The feelings you feel in these books are so real and so raw. If you are looking for closure with this novel think again and count your lucky stars that the third book is out now. Because back in the day when I read it, it wasn’t. It was the only book in the series that I have to wait for and it was torturous.

Please also note: This book wreaks of angst. And the holy grail of all cliffhangers.

Leave a Reply

