Out of Breath (Rebecca Donovan)

 Emma leaves Weslyn and everyone in it behind to attend Stanford University, just as she always intended. A shell of her former self, she is not the same girl. She is broken, and the only way that she’ll be whole again is through forgiveness. Emma must find a way to forgive herself and recognize her own worth before she can receive the love she deserves. This final installment will have readers holding their breath until the very last page. 


I’m done, I did it. I completed my emotional re-read and let me tell you something, it was rough. But it was worth it and I am thankful that I took the time and did this re-read years later.

“I was so tired of fighting. Tired of hurting. Tired of the guilt that that would never release me, and the regrets that could not be changed. I didn’t want this life.”

This series. THIS. All of us that have read these books had our happily ever after ripped from us and suddenly replaced by emotions that we might not even had known existed. We saw an ending that shocked us. And after that, we all tried to grieve. But then that grieve was replaced by anger. After being emotional and dealing with not one but TWO cliff hangers that left us reeling, Rebecca turned right back around and drained us completely.

In this last installment we see Emma struggling to really cope with everything that has happened in her life. This book picks up two years after the second one leaves off, so that means that two years have passed since she has seen or even talked to Evan. She is in college, has friends, goes to parties, but one summer is all it takes for her to confront her past and her demons.

Every choice had a consequence. I’d earned every aching beat that pounded in my chest.”

 The only negative opinion I had with this book was that I felt like I didn’t know who Emma was. I felt like that was the point that Rebecca wanted to portray though. So much damage had been caused during Emma’s life that at this point she was just unrecognizable. I wouldn’t go as far as to say she drove me nuts in this book, but the first 75% of the book…she drove me nuts.

To me, the ending of this book was bittersweet. Knowing I will never read a book like this again or read characters like these again I was actually kind of sad. With that being said, I was very comfortable letting them go. They were both in good places that I was at east with. So, I guess for now, I will say goodbye to these characters once again. Probably until next year when I feel like getting my heart torn apart. AGAIN.

Leave a Reply

