Some Sort of Happy (Melanie Harlow)

image

I almost didn’t believe it was him.

In high school, Sebastian Pryce had been an aloof outsider who kept to himself. But now, ten years, later he’s back and unusually attractive. With muscle in all the right places and hands that know exactly what they’re doing, Sebastian is everything I didn’t know I needed. And while he isn’t exactly friendly, he has a magnetism that draws me in.

He pulls away, afraid he’ll break me.

Until the night I demanded more—and he gave it. (Hard and deep. Twice.)

Were we just two lost, lonely people seeking solace?

Or could a disgraced reality TV star and a flawed, frustrating man actually find some sort of happy together?


I don’t read a lot of recommendations. Basically people’s judgment on books sometimes makes me weary (I know…the irony is not lost on me). But this one was specifically requested for me to read and I’m so excited it was! I want to scream from the rooftops READ THIS BOOK OR PARISH!! Plus, duh. I love me some new found indies. *rubs palms together*

image

I found it very easy and very welcoming connecting to these characters right from the beginning. Skylar is filled with so much spunk and humor you can’t help but to either laugh at her or with her and cheer for her to be on top. Despite the shitty cards she has been handed, her outlook on life is fair. The secondary characters were so diverse and so great I can’t think of one complaint about them. So let’s just skip to Sebastian. The hero. The man. He suffers from OCD and high anxiety and he has struggled with these things for most of his life. But to me, those “differences” made him so beautiful. He was a perfectly flawed character who was shaped and executed very wonderfully.

“You have no idea what that’s like for me to just feel. It’s heaven.”

Harlow keeps the writing light (most of the time) with this book but at the same time you still feel the emotional highs and lows of Skylar and Sebastian’s relationship. Which to me as a reader is very important. I also like that *BOTH* characters are patient and loving with one another. Not to mention accepting. It was very endearing to witness. They grow so much throughout the book, whether they are together or apart.

image

This book was hot, yes. I mean, HOT. But it wasn’t just about the sex. This book was so beautiful my heart cracked. The struggles, the hurt, and the daily obstacles that Sebastian is dealt is more than enough to make room in my cold heart for this fictional character. Along with all of these things, it had a great balance of humor. The characters were playful and there was just enough banter to keep the story pretty light. With this book you get lots of humor, passion, emotions, and love. Bravo!

image

Leave a Reply

