The Man I Love (Suanne Laquer)

image

As a college freshman, Erik Fiskare is drawn to the world of theater but prefers backstage to center stage. The moment he lays eyes on a beautiful, accomplished dancer named Daisy Bianco, his atoms rearrange themselves and he is drawn into a romance both youthfully passionate and maturely soulful. Their love story thrives within a tight-knit circle of friends, all bound by creativity and artistry. A newcomer arrives–a brilliant but erratic dancer with an unquenchable thirst for connection. And when this disturbed friend turns violent and vindictive, the story is forever changed, the circle is broken and a shocking act of betrayal causes Erik to leave school and disconnect from all he loves. He buries his heartbreak and puts the past behind. Or so he believes.

As he moves into adulthood, Erik slowly heals the most wounded parts of his soul. But the unresolved grief for Daisy continues to shape his dreams at night. Once those dreams were haunted by blood. Now they are haunted by the refrain of a Gershwin song and a single question: is leaving always the end of loving?

Spanning 15 years, The Man I Love explores themes of love and sexuality, trauma—physical and mental—and its long-lasting effects, the burden of unfinished business and the power of reconciliation. Through Erik’s experience we reflect on what it means to be a man, a son and a leader. A soul mate, a partner and a lover. What it means to live the truth of who you are and what you feel. What it means to fight for what you love.


Here we are. A book that so many of my friends absolutely just RAVE about. A book that I picked up last year and DNF at 7% (yes, that happened). At this point, I’m used to being in the minority. I don’t like a lot of books that others like and vice versa. But now I have finished it and review I must write.

image

Even though this book was slow to start and quite long winded with the descriptions and writing, it contained some very emotional scenes. Maybe not so emotional to me in a sense, but I can totally see where people latch onto it and just FEEL. I only regret reading the blurb in a sense that I wish I wouldn’t have known what was going to happen. I feel like it would have impacted me a lot more than what it actually did. Being a fast reader I feel like I had to slow my attention and brain down to keep up with the feelings, characters, and actions.

I am very impressed on the subject matters that this author took on. I am sure it was both very challenging and very heartbreaking for her to do so. The themes in this book were not lacking in any department. I feel like she covered all of the ground on them, emotionally and realistically. The down side for me was not connecting with the main characters. It’s very hard for me to obsess with a book when I can’t grasp onto a character and live vicariously through them. Having that said, I connected with the secondary ones. I feel like she wrote great supporting characters who were the building blocks to this story. Who created so much more intensity in this story.

image

I felt more compelled in the second half of this book to finish. I skimmed a lot in the first half (GUILTY). Everything started flowing more realistically for me by 52% and I think at this point my smut ridden brain had also caught onto the focus and actual point of this story.

I want to wrap this up by saying this: the book has truly exceptional writing. It does. It’s an intellectual type of writing though. One that you either have to push through or let it suck the life out of you and consume you. One that I wouldn’t usually pick up and read for sheer joy every time I read a book. So please keep in mind that I didn’t hate this book. I didn’t OMG LOVE it either. And I’m allowed to do that. So now I say HA! I did it. I conquered it. I read it. I enjoyed it. I’ll finish the series.

image

 

2 thoughts on “The Man I Love (Suanne Laquer)

  1. Is it weird that I like when you do posts like this one too? We don’t all love every book and at that the same ones. I love honest reviews. 🙂 Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

