Sins & Needles (Karina Halle)

16029994


Ellie Watt is used to starting over. The daughter of a grifting team, Ellie spent her childhood being used as a pawn in her parents’ latest scam. Now she’s much older, wiser and ready to give her con artist life a rest. But returning to the dry desert town of Palm Valley, California means one more temptation than she bargained for – Camden McQueen. Once known as the high school weirdo, Camden is bigger and badder than the boy he used to be and a talented tattoo artist with his own thriving business. Ellie’s counting on Camden still being in love with her but what she’s not counting on is how easily unrequited love can turn into obsession over time. When Camden discovers Ellie’s plan to con him, he makes her a deal she doesn’t dare refuse, but her freedom comes with a price and it’s one that takes both Ellie and Camden down a dangerous road.


Well, I finally got to it. I read the VERY famous Sins and Needles by Karina Halle and I definitely liked it for the most part. Especially since it was so different than what I’m used to reading. I kind of feel like the odd one out though. Again…

As far as I am concerned, Camden made this story. He built it to be the great story it was to certain people. He’s flawed, yes. and he makes mistakes, yes. But he’s a very relatable character to me. Personally, I felt a lot of empathy towards him. Very understandable character to me.

descriptionA couple of things I liked about this book was the writing. I’ll be the first to say I’m not a big Karina fan. Actually, not at all. But the writing was good, it held my attention. I felt like her writing flowed very smoothly all the way through. Not too much descriptions and not too much thoughts going on at one time. I also enjoyed the storyline. It was a very interesting story that I was very drawn to. And the ending……


The downside? I didn’t care for Ellie. She was obnoxious. Ruthless. Annoying. But did she complete the story? Yes. Naive heroines drive me completely bonkers and she takes the cake. Also, their chemistry didn’t hit at home with me. I didn’t feel that PANG! I just didn’t. I think Ellie just dragged this story to a three star read for me.

“Jesus,” he whispered, gaze lingering everywhere. “I keep forgetting that you’re art already.”

“So what are you going to tattoo on me?”

“Whatever your scars tell me to,” he said…..

After a few minutes,the needle buzzed,alive and waiting to transform me.

I put my sins in his hands.

I did enjoy this book. The story is told in first person from Ellie’s POV and alternates between “Now” and “Then” to offer a better insight into Ellie and Camden’s lives present and past. Which does help tremendously. I didn’t see a lot of plot holes and I was thoroughly intrigued all the way though. I thought that it has a well-paced story, an interesting plot and even a couple OMG moments.

Leave a Reply

