How to Kill a Rockstar (Tiffanie Debartlo) 

img_4468
Written in her wonderfully honest, edgy, passionate and often hilarious voice, Tiffanie DeBartolo tells the story of Eliza Caelum, a young music journalist, and Paul Hudson, a talented songwriter and lead singer of the band Bananafish. Eliza’s reverence for rock is equaled only by Paul’s, and the two fall wildly in love. 

When Bananafish is signed by a big corporate label, and Paul is on his way to becoming a major rock star, Eliza must make a heartbreaking decision that leads to Paul’s sudden disappearance and a surprise knock-your-socks-off ending.


Goddamnit.

When I picked up How To Kill a Rock Star, I had NO idea that it was a book told from the perspective of three villains. Yes, to me they are villains. Self-centered, self-destructive, villains. Say what you want but they were. But who says that is a bad thing?

image

The very cool thing about this book was the way the writing was styled. For instance: The way Eliza described Paul really sat well with me. There were descriptions about his looks that most romance writers indulge in. Like, his nose that was slightly long and his greasy dark hair and his lanky build; but to me, it was more of the way she described how he made her feel that really brought him to life to me. Most authors these days don’t do that. And I enjoyed knowing what made him a personal Jesus.

“Eliza has the sky in her eyes and I’ve always wanted to touch the goddamn sky.”

Now just because I five starred this doesn’t mean I didn’t have issues. Eliza, you’re lucky you grew on me. I wish I could have slapped you fifty times. You did pulverize my heart with an AK-47. Bastard.

image

The secondary characters were down right amazing. They built up the whole story and never drug it down for an instant. This book was laced with so many characters that were just so real and felt like home to me. I found myself cursing decisions that they mad and wanting to shake them so hard and beg them to reconsider their actions. They were all so much more than words on a page to me. I felt like I knew them. Like they were part of me. Like my home.

I almost stopped reading multiple times. I almost couldn’t even bare to progress any more and I was already having a hard time with these feelings I was experiencing. It was very uncomfortable for me. But it was a good uncomfortable none the less.

“Reach out and touch faith.”

image

Okay well, I have wrote enough. So much so, my pancreas now hurts.

Over. 

Leave a Reply

