The Summer Remains (Seth King)

 

24443726

Twenty-four-year-old Summer Johnson knows two things. The first is that due to a quickly worsening medical condition, she faces a risky surgery in three months’ time that may or may not end in her death. The second is that she would like to fall in love before then.

As spring sinks into her namesake season on the Florida coastline, Summer plays the odds and downloads a new dating app – and after one intriguing message from a beautiful surfer named Cooper Nichols, it becomes clear that the story of what may be her last few months under the sun is about to be completely revised. All she has to do now is write something worth reading.

Tender, honest, devastating and triumphant, The Summer Remains explores a very human battle being waged in a very digital age: the search for a love that will outlast this temporary borrowing of bones. In an era when many feel compelled to share and re-share anything about everything, prepare to feel a love so special, you will want to hug it close and make it yours forever.


I was 62% done with this book the instant I knew what I was going to rate this book. The fact that it took me 2 weeks to get through didn’t help with the rating. But, I am fully committed to my reading challenge this year so I pushed through the book. All in all, this book fell way way short for me.

This book has such great reviews and I can see why so many people would rate this so high, especially those that love the young adult genre. With the promise of an “ugly cry,” terminally ill female lead, a perfect male lead, such as Bright Side, those are definitely characteristics of books that most people sink their teeth into. Me including. I LOVE a good healthy cry and the book that is good enough to drag that cry out of me.

Let’s start with the characters. They seemed MUCH younger than they were actually supposed to be. Their relationship was very insta-lovey, and a lot of it was very unbelievable. The protagonist rubbed me the wrong way from the beginning with her attitude and her inner dialogue. Maybe I would have liked this one more if it WASN’T from Summer’s POV. Who knows…?

Like! Oh my GOD. How many times exactly was the word “like” used in this book? 768 TIMES. 7.6.8. I didn’t count, there is a search function. And it wasn’t used for describing things either, it was used in midst of a sentence. Like, how annoying.

Also, has anybody heard of the book The Fault in Our Stars? That’s all I will say. Just wanted to throw that out there.

Missing commas, missing words, incorrectly used colons and semicolons. I am no grammar freak, by any means and I know I am not perfect but come on. If I can catch that why didn’t anyone else?

The author’s note was by far my favorite part of this book.

And I feel denied and stood up, just like my ex boyfriends used to do to me. I didn’t get my ugly cry.

Leave a Reply

