Ginger’s Heart (Katy Regnery)

25156452

Once upon a time there were two cousins:

one golden like the sun,

one dark like midnight,

one a protector,

one a predator,

one a Woodsman

and

one a Wolf…

both owning equal,

but different,

parts of a little girl’s heart.

In this modern retelling of “Little Red Riding Hood,” the woodsman and the wolf are cousins, and Little Red is the girl with whom they both fall in love.

Beautiful Ginger McHuid, daughter of Kentucky’s premiere horse breeder, grows up on her family farm, best friends with Cain Wolfram, the son of her father’s Stallion Manager, and Cain’s cousin, Josiah Woodman, son of a local banker. Throughout their happy childhood, the three are inseparable friends, but as they mature into adults, complicated feelings threaten to destroy their long history of friendship and love.



3 stars

I rated this one a solid three stars. I enjoyed this read but not completely and wholly. I adore Katy and her writing and plots. I do! But still yet, nothing of hers has hit me as hard as Never Let You Go. I am not sure why. I think with saying that, my expectations for her books have been extremely high. High for the hurt, and the feels and the angst.

Some things that I didn’t care for in this story were the repeating of scenarios in the first half of the book. It was actually rather exhausting and I skimmed a bunch if it. When something happened you got it through Ginger’s POV, then you got either Josiah’s or Cain’s. It was redundant and not necessary in my opinion. And nothing was different in the POV’s. It was unnecessary repeating.

I also did not care for the way the slang and their speech was written. Were they in the 21st century? Were they in the south in the 60’s? But then things like frozen pizza and cell phones and Wi-Fi would be brought up and I wouldn’t have a clue as to what timeframe I was in. It was very mind boggling to me. Plus, we don’t sound like that in the south.

I had a hard time with the way things happened in this book. Not all of them but some. I wish I could go into more detail but I can’t because I don’t like when people spoil stuff. Some of Ginger’s decisions I really struggled with. A lot. But I liked the story line. It wasn’t your typical story line and there was a lot of OMG moments that were extremely emotional and even well written. I even second guessed myself on a couple of things.

Katy, however, has some of the best writing I have come across still to this day. With this writing she makes you feel and hurt but her words also have the power to heal you. All in one book. How magical is that?

Leave a Reply

