The Fire Between Hi & Lo (Brittainy Cherry)

image.jpeg

There once was a boy, and I loved him.

Logan Francis Silverstone was the complete opposite of me. I danced while he stood still. He was quiet, and I was always running my mouth. He struggled to find a smile while I refused to frown.

The night I saw the darkness that truly lived inside of him, I couldn’t look away.

We were broken together, yet somehow whole. We were wrong together, but always right. We were the stars that burned across the night sky, searching for a wish, praying for better tomorrows.

Until the day I lost him. I threw us away with one hasty decision—a decision that changed us forever.

There once was a boy, and I loved him.

And for a few breaths, a few whispers, a few moments, I think he loved me, too.

Brittainy writes truth. Every time. I don’t think it really even matters what she is writing about. Everything she writes will hit you right in the core. And with every book she releases, she just keeps getting better and better.

Please be aware, some of this book might be hard for you to read. Trust me, I cringed and gagged and hurt a lot. But all of the good and the highs were will be worth it. You might cry, but hey! You’ll smile too! You just have to get past the ugly and the scary.

image

This was a slow burning friends to lover book (one of my faves). No instalove. Complete trust and love was evolved and broken for us as reader to see. And trust me when I say: you WILL feel the hurt. Don’t even act like you don’t. Don’t fight it. I think Brittainy wants to strip us bare and make us nice and vulnerable before she drops that BIG FAT WHAMMY and poof…your heart is dust.

image

The secondary characters. I can’t. I think I loved them and their stories more than Alyssa and Logan’s. There was just SO MUCH more to this book than Alyssa and Logan. So many stories. Lessons. Healing. Each character had redeeming qualities but at the same time each character had an obstacle they has to over come at some point. There are highs and lo’s but the best parts are the in between moments. Their healing and clarity moments.

The plot was solid. I didn’t see a single hole or missing conclusion. All of your questions were answered and then some. I loved their internal dialogue as well as the alternating POV’s so that is always a plus.

By 10% I was already committed to giving my heart over to Brittainy…point blank. Take it and destroy it. She didn’t let me down. She did just that but at the same time she was able to heal me. I didn’t know anything was broken in me until this story. Until Logan. Until Alyssa.

image

At this point, the element series has turned out to be some of Brittainy’s best work hands down. I can only hope that she will keep progressing. Who am I kidding? Every book she released is better than the last in some sort of way. She won’t ever let me down.

image

image

Leave a Reply

