Collared (Nicole Williams)

 
When a seventeen-year-old girl vanishes,

A community is shaken.

Parents turn desperate.

Friends hold vigils.

And the boy who loves her searches.
When a year goes by,

The community is recovering.

Parents feel hopeless.

Friends feel helpless.

And the boy who loves her continues his search.
When ten years go by,

The community has forgotten.

Parents cling to the past.

Friends move toward the future.

And the boy who loves her . . .

Brings her home.

Jade Childs spent ten years in captivity, but now that she’s back, the real battle for survival begins. The media shadows her. Flashbacks haunt her. Her old life evades her. Her so-called new life rejects her. She spent too many years in the dark to recognize the light. She spent too long repressing her feelings to remember how to express them. She spent a decade abandoning hope and cannot dare letting it back into her life. Jade’s not just defined by what happened to her—she’s collared to it.
When the twenty-seven-year-old woman is found,

A community wants to know the story,

Parents want to forget the story,

Friends want to be a part of the story,

And the man who still loves her faces the greatest challenge yet: letting her go.

The cover. That’s what sold me on this book. It did me in. It’s beautiful. Also, I have never heard of this author before so I went in blind. But please don’t mistake my three stars for a terrible review and rating. Let me explain:

First and foremost…Why was the ending so open ended? I mean, what? Why? What’s going on? I hate feeling like I missed something. Unless you plan on picking up where that left off I usually don’t care for those types of endings.

And can we talk about her way of going about everything? I mean, one day after and she is ready to take on the world and conquer it all. I appreciated how it backfired for her though. I feel like it taught her to slow down and take it all one day at a time. But, I’m also selfish. I want these things. TELL ME.

image

Also, I feel like we needed MORE time in her captivity. More feelings. And definitely more of her POV in captivity. I needed more of the past. More validation. TEN years and I only know a handful oif things that happened in said ten years. I feel like she was so over dramatic at some points because I didn’t know what exactly was making her tick or triggering her.

I did enjoy the story line. I enjoyed the title and how fitting it was. I enjoyed the metaphors the author used. And I appreciated her take on the elephants. I am glad I got to see Jade transpire into what she needed.

DO NOT READ THE BLURB!!

Collared follows not only Jade and her struggles, but it also follows her self-discovery AND recovery. She is a survivor. Never a victim. This story was told in a quick moving tempo and it definitely kept me reading and interested. It moves at just the right speed. It isn’t rushed and it doesn’t drag. It’s definitely one of those books you don’t want to put down until you have reached the end.

But then the ending *side eyes*

image

Leave a Reply

