Roots and Wings (M. Mabie)

 
Welcome to Wynne, population 3,401.

No billionaires. No professional athletes. No celebrities.

In this small town, current events are pondered in mirrors at the local salon or around crowded tables at the diner, and there’s a new couple to gossip about. A rough and tumble woman who works in her dad’s garage, not yet ready to spread her wings, shows the new guy in town what it’s like to finally have roots.

It’s your run-of-the-mill, sexy, Astro van driving dentist meets smart-ass, bass fishing tomboy in a story of real-life romance.

Low on drama. High on love.

 Pull up a chair and stay a while. 


Before you even ask, NO…this book is nothing like her Wake Series books. But you know what? I think that is a good thing. One: because it would be hard to even come close to that angsty series and two: this one is in a realm of its own with its uniqueness.

With Roots and Wings we get a real nice slow-burn every day romance with a normal hero and heroine. Nothing over the top or over exaggerated. In regards to the romance aspect, I literally sat there thinking “OMG GIVE ME SOME ACTION!” that’s how slow burning this was. Which in my case is a great thing. Because insta-love is a big fat NOPE. The tension that develops is impalpable. I don’t even think I can come up with a word to describe it at this point. But when it hits you, damn does it hit you.

And let me tell you, I have never encountered a heroine like Mutt. I’ll be darned. She was everything I look for in a heroine and she is so headstrong I wanted to high five her at least 10 times. She was just so cool. Vaughn was definitely swoon worthy and a couple of the secondary characters snagged my attention as well. With this book we get alternate POV’s through Mutt and through Vaughn. Which I really enjoyed. Especially on certain parts 😉

The book was very easy get into and the dialogue and plot flowed very nicely. It’s a REAL love story. There is no forcing or staging anything. M. Mabie gives us Mutt and her inner dialogue and wraps it around us like a warm blanket and you just never want to emerge from it. I got so lost in Wynne with Mutt and Vaughn I didn’t even want to come back to the real world. Roots and Wings is a light and fun romance. I was hooked from the start and I laughed and I awed. No drama. Just a good time read that keeps you reeling and smiling.

 

Leave a Reply

