Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children (Ransom Riggs)

 image 
A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.


I read this book years ago but with the release of the movie coming up I wanted to catch up and reread. All in all, I thought the premise of this book was really cool and different and the world we were in was quite interesting. The old photographs included in the story also gave it a nice touch––although I often felt like the book was struggling to explain the photos and work them into the story in a way that felt forced and unnatural. I have never read anything that revolved around pictures so it was refreshing.

image

Here’s a downside to me: there were literally SO many characters I couldn’t even keep up with them. I didn’t know who was peculiar and who wasn’t. Or who did what or had which power. It also seemed like the story was more focused on their powers and what they were capable of rather than on them developing as characters and people. I felt like no one really had a personality that was shown to us clearly enough to form a connection.

image

The story was slow. I’m sure for good reason but I tend to stray away from slow and descriptive books. But once you get to the last half, it was WAY too fast paced. There was no consistency. It was all or nothing.  

I liked this book because it was different for me. It was way out of my reading genre that I have been in here recently and I can definitely appreciate a good book pulling me out of my comfort zone. I look forward to going onto the next book in the series. Especially the movie!
image

Leave a Reply

