Absolution(Amanda Dick)

image

Jack McKenna is a man with two very distinct pasts. One ended with a car accident involving his girlfriend, Ally, and a split-second decision with horrific consequences. Desperate to escape the guilt, he carved out a new life for himself. Four years spent hiding in the shadows, punishing himself for not having the courage to go back to her. Then, out of the blue, a phone call forces him to face up to everything and everyone he left behind.

Ally Connor’s life was split in two—before the car accident that shattered her spine, and after Jack’s sudden disappearance. Abandoning her when she needed him most, she fought hard to make it back from the brink. The face she shows to the world is strong and courageous, but behind the mask, the pain is burrowing deeper.

But fate had more in store for these two broken souls than either could have imagined. A funeral, a homecoming and a journey of self-discovery that would change both their lives—if they let it.

Suddenly, the secrets they want to hide from each other are the very secrets that could make them whole again.

This was just an “okay” book.All of it was. I have never heard of or read Amanda Dick before so I wasn’t sure where this one would take me. The cover was nice. But damn, was this book long. A long..slow…book.

image

I connected with NONE of the characters. Not a one. Not even once. I wasn’t even sure who was what to who. Does that make sense? No, it didn’t to me either. Jack is supposed to be a main character but to me we spent more time with Callum and the secondary characters. Which in turn left me to feel nothing for Jack. I couldn’t empathize with him or anything. He just never developed. Poor guy was just…there. Bland. Boring.

image

The story was very slow. Not a good kind of slow either. A lot of the characters and their actions and feelings bogged the whole story down for me as I was reading. I think it’s because this story really had NO plot. None. It was a second chance romance. That’s literally it. And yes. I skimmed at parks. Absolutely.

Bit of advice from me: throw some more intensity in there! Don’t be afraid to do that. This story in particular could have used a little bit of it.

If you want to read a book about characters who wallow in self pity the whole way through–look no farther! This book is for you!

Leave a Reply

