Life Interrupted (Yessi Smith)

I am a blank canvas that even the artist in me doesn’t know how to fill. My life started the day I escaped and woke up in the hospital. Escaped from reality. Escaped from fear. Escaped from him. Nothing exists before that, and as the days trickle by, I’m positive there’s nothing after that either. I try though. For Poppa, who hasn’t left my side since I woke up, I try to I am a blank canvas that even the artist in me doesn’t know how to fill. My life started the day I escaped and woke up in the hospital. Escaped from reality. Escaped from fear. Escaped from him. Nothing exists before that, and as the days trickle by, I’m positive there’s nothing after that either. I try though. For Poppa, who hasn’t left my side since I woke up, I try to live. But every attempt is futile. So I escape again and start fresh on a small island, where there aren’t any expectations to fulfill. Where family and friends I don’t remember can’t look at me with sadness and disappointment. And when Travis Keillar comes into my life everything changes. The memories I’ve lost become unimportant to the memories I’m creating with him. For the first time since I opened my eyes that fateful day in the hospital, life smiles back at me. Until it doesn’t. Until he comes back for me. For revenge of crimes I don’t remember committing.


Wtf did I just read? And I don’t mean that in the good way I mean that in the “man, there goes the time I will never get back or see again” way. Because really, I will never get that valuable reading time back. But I get it, you win some you lose some. Some of my trusted friends were talking about this book so I bought it and ugh. Let’s begin shall we?

The only think I enjoyed about this story was Holly. I really enjoyed her and I enjoyed her coping mechanisms. I also enjoyed the writing! It was very wonderful and flowed nicely. But the story just lacked for me. I also enjoyed Mando’s POV. I liked being shifted to his thoughts and almost would have preferred to stay with his thoughts at most parts.

HOLY PLOT HOLES, BATMAN!! Don’t tell me you didn’t see them because they are all throughout the entire book. Honestly, had Yessi filled those holes, this might have been a 3 or 4 star read for me. I had way too many questions and way too many eye rolls though. The suspense that people were raving about just wasn’t there for me. I didn’t have that nail biting experience that everyone else had. Some of it was actually quite predictable.

INSTA-LOVE, EW!

All in all, it was just “MEH” for me. I skimmed the last 30% pretty hard just to get past the lulls. There was nothing realistic in the least to me. No police, no FBI. There was ONE Psychiatrist. That is it. The middle of the book was tremendously SLOW. Which sucked because the first part of the book was so fast paced. Then you get to the ending and literally……wow……that?

Leave a Reply

