Avoiding Commitment (KA Linde)

 

image

Jack and Lexi never had a typical relationship. After 2 years without speaking, she receives a phone call that changes everything. He unexpectedly asks her to convince the new girl, Bekah, that he’s ready to commit. Jack is calling now after everything they had been through because there is another woman. She can’t believe it.

Follow Lexi in this heart wrenching drama as she relives her past relationship, or lack thereof, with Jack, and not just in her own mind, but to his fiance-to-be. Throw in Bekah’s hot brother who always seems to be in the right place at the right time, a past with more secrets to unravel than you can even imagine, and you get a recipe for disaster.

Find out what happens to Lexi as she travels to Atlanta to get the closure she so desperately desires from Jack, and how the bumps of life seem to keep getting in the way.

Jesus Christ. I feel like I just binge watched a terrible season of The OC all day. For real. In the past, I’ve tried to read this book three times. Each time I could never get past 20% and now I get it. I know why.

image

I’m just gonna go right ahead and say this. I fully believe I am Team Jack. The asshole right? But his character was the only three dimensional character I read about in this angst of a story. He had depth and he was a like-able guy. Also, I had a Jack in my younger days. So of course I’m more drawn to him. I feel like Lexi was so stupid I don’t even have an adequate insult for her. I am actually drawing a blank because the whole time I read her actions I want to just scream at her. Chyna was my shit. She was an amazing secondary character. Props.

Beckah…nobody likes you. Nobody.

Ramsey…I’m still onto you.

image

Lexi…I’ll tell you this one time and one time only: once a side chick always a side chick. Let it go honey & grow a backbone.

Also, the excuse “I love you and want to be with you but not right now” is really ridiculous. Just complete bullshit

image

Especially because Jack LITERALLY told Lexi that at least 180 times and she never listened. Or even GOT IT. Home girl, he is just biding time. Set your feelings aside and bone him if that’s all you want to do. Christ.

Can we also talk about how unrealistic this book was? I’m talking about what female in their right mind calls up their boyfriend’s exes and wants information from them? NO GIRL DOES.

The only thing this book gave me was heart palpitations and the urge to Facebook stalk the old guy that used to play hot potato with me like Jack did with Lexi. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

