Dearest Clementine (Lex Martin)

image

Twenty-year-old Clementine Avery doesn’t mind being called bitchy and closed off. It’s safe, and after being burned by her high school sweetheart and stalked by a professor her freshman year of college, safe sounds pretty damn good.Her number one rule for survival? No dating. That is until she accidentally signs up for a romance writing class and needs material for her latest assignment.

Sexy RA Gavin Murphy is more than happy to play the part of book boyfriend to help Clem find some inspiration, even if that means making out…in the name of research, of course.As Gavin and Clem grow closer, they get entangled in the mystery surrounding a missing student, and Clem unwittingly becomes a possible target. Gavin tries to show Clem she can handle falling in love again, but she knows she has to be careful because her heart’s at stake…and maybe even her life.

I didn’t love this book and I didn’t hate this book. I did enjoy how fast paced and light this read was though.

image

My only downfall with this this book was Clementine. I just couldn’t dig in with her to latch on and connect. I’m not sure if it was my lack of empathy or just my lack of interest in her. Anyways, when you can’t connect to the main character herself you’re bound to establish some problems with the way she acts and if she annoyed you rather than the book as a whole.

I enjoyed the characters banter back and forth and the secondary characters more than I did the plot of the story. Gavin was great. Until he turned into a huge walking/talking cliche. But then he was great again.

Another good part of this book was the underlying mystery and eeriness to the book.

If you’re looking for just a quick and light read I think you would be pretty safe with this one. It was very predictable but all in all I felt like the writing and the characters made it a decent enough book.

Leave a Reply

