Translucent (Erin Noelle)

image

Sometimes you reach a point where you just can’t take any more — a breaking point, some call it.

The day I watched my husband murder the woman who was pregnant with his child, my point didn’t just break, it exploded like a full magazine’s worth of hollow points firing through the barrel of a fully-automatic AK-47.

Literally.

I am no longer his American Princess, nor am I his slave.

Now, I’m a murderer in hiding. My name was Bryleigh Carter Oliveira, and that was my story.

Can I please just first say this: I adore the hell out of Erin. I’m a very avid follower and supporter of her. Plus her smile could brighten the worst day ever. That being said…

Let’s begin.

This book started out so strong. There was so much potential with the story line, the characters, and the elements. I was drawn to Bryleigh and her story almost immediately. Up until around 20% and then I got sleepy…

image

Blake’s character was just okay to me. I could tolerate her easily enough to push through the story. My only complaint with her was despite her shady past and her incessant reassurance to herself that she didn’t want to jump into anything, she quickly jumped into another relationship. Once she met Madden, her character development and depth went straight out the door. Along with her backbone.

INSTA-LOVE. Also, is Insta-Trust a word? It’s definitely a thing in this book. Every thing was rushed despite what they kept saying about taking their time. I mean, hello. You can’t think that I forgot about that!

image

I loved the flashbacks. They were my complete favorite out of the whole book. I almost wanted to skim just to get to them. I mean…yeah, there was suspense there but it never remained constant. I only felt it when we had the flashbacks. I didn’t feel that anxiousness in my stomach throughout all of the book. But I think that’s because of my constant irritation with Madden.

He drove me batty. He got all of my eye rolls. All of them. He was a huge wannabe alpha. Just because you get some sirs thrown around in the sack and a blindfold doesn’t make you a bonafide alpha mackdaddy. Had he simmered it down a little bit, he would have made a great three dimensional character.

image

For a short and quick, semi-dark read this one is a good selection. Plus, there’s a huge cliffy so if you enjoyed it enough you’ll grab the second one.

Leave a Reply

