Murder (Ella James)


Let me tell you now: I kill her.
I love Gwenna White more than my life. And still – I’m her demise.
****
It should have been simple. Easy come, easy go, and in between: atonement.

She was not who I’d have chosen.

Gwen was delicate and lovely: a former model with a ruined life, living loudly in the quiet of the Smoky Mountains, healing injured bears.

When she laid her hands on me, she healed me too.

That’s how it began. That’s where it went wrong.
I knew she could never be mine. But I sinned.
I sinned.


Oh man, OB-SESSED WITH THIS ONE.

Yeah there was romance but this baby was packed FULL of suspense and mystery. Just enough to keep my eyes wide and my breaths short. The mystery element in this one was so fantastic. Even if you say you knew what was going to be the outcome or how this story was going to pan out, it was still very well written and I don’t think anyone can argue that. The metaphors, the descriptions, analogies, tension. All of it. It was so well done that you don’t even know who is bad, who is good, who is helping, nothing.

“Love doesn’t give choices. It’s like a blanket: protective. I’m not ready to drop it yet. Sometimes I think I never will be.”

The one thing I have noticed about Ella and her books that I have read this far is that she writes characters that are so dynamic and realistic its completely mind-blowing. Barrett was exceptional and his POV chapters were so captivating. You empathize with him and you want to understand him and hug him but then you’re swooning over him because his level of broodiness is just RIGHT.

The only thing that kept this from being a 5 star read for me was the inconsistency and grammar/spelling. Some chapters would say “Barrett” at the top but they would really be in Gwenna’s POV. I feel like these should have been discovered in the beta process or the editing process. And one big hole that had to do with Jamie towards the end.

BUT, just like in Sloth, the sex in this book was riveting and so damn hot. *side eye*

This book might be long but it is well worth it. I never wanted it to end and it wasn’t even repetitive. Ella kept a great pace and flow that made me feel like I wasn’t just reading “some book that never ended”. It had a purpose. It had a reason. I was completely consumed and in love with not just the book but the characters and the plot line. It was very much worth the wait and I look forward to her next ones that she releases.

 

Leave a Reply

