Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)

image

Scottish Highlands, 1945. Claire Randall, a former British combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding clans in the year of Our Lord . . . 1743.

Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of a world that threatens her life, and may shatter her heart. Marooned amid danger, passion, and violence, Claire learns her only chance of safety lies in Jamie Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior. What begins in compulsion becomes urgent need, and Claire finds herself torn between two very different men, in two irreconcilable lives.


I plunged into the Outlander world and I came out alive. Although it was a long and treacherous read, a majority of it was a pleasant read.

When I started the audio I began enjoying it much more. So if reading a behemoth of a book with strange Gaelic language is not for you, try out the audio.

image

First, the author is obviously well crafted in her talent. I can see how her story telling has captured the minds of a lot of people and a lot of my friends. Her descriptions are vivid and her characters are very well thought out.

I do have to say that Claire was my most favorite part of this book. Her mannerisms, reactions, her attitude. They were all so exciting to read. The story line was very enjoyable, even more so through her POV.

image

Some would disagree with me but in my honest opinion, a lot of this story could be edited out. Longer is not always better. There were also some things in here that were triggers to me and very hard to read but nonetheless I pushed through.

I liked this book for the most part. My friends love this book, I respect that. This, however was NOT for me. It was long, it was wordy, and it was very strenuous for me. But I did it. I made outlander my bettttch.

Leave a Reply

