All the Bright Places (Jennifer Niven)


Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.


I did a reread on this when I learned that they were making a movie out of this book (as I usually do). I’m so glad I did a reread. What an emotional book. I saw it all coming and knew what was going to happen but oops, guess I took this read to heart…again.

My most favorite part of this whole book was the characters. I enjoyed them immensely, every one of them. Namely Finch. He was my most favorite. His quirkiness, his personality, just all of him including his “issues”. He was a very well-crafted character who fit the definition of myself as a teenager to a T.

“For what it is worth, you showed me something—there is such a thing as a perfect day.”

My only negative thought on this book was the fact that it is strangely similar to The Fault in Our Stars. And the fact that the first part of the book is very slow. BUT the redeeming point is, the writing. I am not usually one to enjoy Young Adult novels but the writing in this one was so well done that I hardly even noticed that it was.

I appreciated how realistic this book was. We have all been teenagers. We know what that is like. Changing, high school, growing, adapting. It’s hard. This book depicts all of that. I feel like with how raw and realistic this book was, you will most likely end up being stunned into silence but the end of it.

“You are all of the colors in one, at full brightness.”

I feel like everyone needs to read this book. The topics are important and very serious. It showed the dark side of our lives and the crawling and digging we do to just scrape by in this challenging life.

Leave a Reply

