One True Loves (Taylor Jenkins Reid)


In her twenties, Emma Blair marries her high school sweetheart, Jesse. They build a life for themselves, far away from the expectations of their parents and the people of their hometown in Massachusetts. They travel the world together, living life to the fullest and seizing every opportunity for adventure.
On their first wedding anniversary, Jesse is on a helicopter over the Pacific when it goes missing. Just like that, Jesse is gone forever.

Emma quits her job and moves home in an effort to put her life back together. Years later, now in her thirties, Emma runs into an old friend, Sam, and finds herself falling in love again. When Emma and Sam get engaged, it feels like Emma’s second chance at happiness.

That is, until Jesse is found. He’s alive, and he’s been trying all these years to come home to her. With a husband and a fiancé, Emma has to now figure out who she is and what she wants, while trying to protect the ones she loves.

Who is her one true love?

What does it mean to love truly?

Emma knows she has to listen to her heart. She’s just not sure what it’s saying.


I have this feeling that every Taylor Jenkins Reid book will leave a huge impact on you. This is my second one and it left an even bigger hole in my heart than the first one I read did. It opened my eyes to a whole new feeling that I have never felt before. So of course I am going to run out and grab her others that I haven’t devoured yet.

“Hollow and empty are terrible ways to feel when youre used to being full of joy. But it’s not so bad when youre used to feeling full of pain. Hollow feels okay. Empty feels like beginning.”

I will say this (no spoilers): I knew who I loved the minute I started reading this book. I knew who I chose and who I was smitten with. But besides just him, you will fall in love with every character in some way.

The one thing I would like to point out is how easy it is to get lost in this book. How easy it is to fall in love with her writing and the flowing. I feel as if she could write a children’s book and I would beg to read it to my son every single night. But just because they are so easy to devour does not make it any less deep than what they really are. Not only do the words dig deep into you but her story and her meaning behind the story digs deep into you.

I wish I could buy this book for everybody. It’s packed full of just the right amount of emotion from sadness to uplifting joy. How this fictional story can feel so real is beyond me but I have this prediction that all of this authors book are packed full of punches just like this one.

“It’s messy to love after heartbreak. It’s painful and ir forces you to be honest with yourself about who you are. You have to work harder to find the words fo ryour feelings, because they don’t fit into any prefabricated boxes.

But it’s worth it.
Because look what you get.
Great loves.
Meaningful loves.
True loves.”

I love the simplicity of the cover as well. It speaks volumes once you finish the book. I’ll end with this, most people when they read the blurb will think “oh God, another love triangle story.” But it isn’t that. It’s so much more. It’s about growth, acceptance, truth, and most importanly finding yourself. To me, it was about learning to play the piano when there wasn’t one near you. This book made me realize how special the heart truly is. It endures so many emotions, obstacles, stress and it still beats and beats as if nothing can drag it down.

2 thoughts on “One True Loves (Taylor Jenkins Reid)

Leave a Reply

