Six of Crows (Leigh Bardugo)


Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. 
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.


WOW!

What a fantastic read. I told myself I was going to branch out more this year and I am proud of the fact that I have done so well and had great successes with the ones I have read thus far. I have a couple more checked out from my local library that I will also be reading.

This book is different. I am talking magic, smarts, hormones, and trickery different. But I feel as if that’s a good thing with this book. It was all very exciting and new to me. The shenanigans in the book were so great! I feel like heist books have to be written very delicately and at the same time not be too overdone and the author executed that perfectly.

“We are all someone’s monster.”

The characters were very much well thought out and portrayed and the depth of them was unbelievable. The diversity between all of the characters was even better. I felt like it was the Suicide Squad but with teenagers. Maybe even a young version of Ocean’s Eleven. I think their interactions with each other was my favorite part.

Not to mention I have a huge, fat girl crush on Inej. And if I had to rate Matthias a number 1-10, he would get a 20.

“You may still die in the Dregs.” Inej’s dark eyes had glinted. I may, but I’ll die on my feet with a knife in my hand.”

My only issue is that I am still trying to get the hang of Young Adult. I’m trying and I am still new at it. So, in a sense I had to think more along the lines of their ages.

Overall I felt like Six of Crows was a thrilling and fun ride. It was new and different for me and I felt it held up to its all-around hype in the book industry. My most favorite thing was how well the author focused mainly on the PLOT. It made me feel so much more connected to the story and the characters journey. I hope if there is anyone that is reading this review and wanting to branch out into a new genre, they give this book a chance. I am so glad that I did.

Now, how soon until I get the next one…*side eyes*

Leave a Reply

