Pretty Girls (Karin Slaughter)

img_9727

More than twenty years ago, Claire and Lydia’s teenaged sister Julia vanished without a trace. The two women have not spoken since, and now their lives could not be more different. Claire is the glamorous trophy wife of an Atlanta millionaire. Lydia, a single mother, dates an ex-con and struggles to make ends meet. But neither has recovered from the horror and heartbreak of their shared loss—a devastating wound that’s cruelly ripped open when Claire’s husband is killed.
The disappearance of a teenage girl and the murder of a middle-aged man, almost a quarter-century apart: what could connect them? Forming a wary truce, the surviving sisters look to the past to find the truth, unearthing the secrets that destroyed their family all those years ago .

. . and uncovering the possibility of redemption, and revenge, where they least expect it.

Powerful, poignant, and utterly gripping, packed with indelible characters and unforgettable twists, Pretty Girls is a masterful thriller from one of the finest suspense writers working today. 

I can’t even begin to explain how much I loved this book. From the characters to the writing to the suspense to the length. Ugh. So good. I don’t read blurbs so I originally went into this blind and I’m so proud that I did. I would actually recommend that to anyone.

image

Once I started this book, I was automatically drawn to it. Oh my god, I had instalove with a book! I actually never wanted it to end. Thankfully, there was no lulls either. I felt like I was reading and not getting bored and not having to push myself to finish like with most books I read.

“Tell me you want this.”

If you have a faint heart or a weak stomach I wouldn’t read this. It’s gory and disturbing but the more gore and disturbances are the better for me. The uniqueness of this story is what drew me in from the start though. The boldness helped too. The ability that Karin has developed to write with no fear or an ounce of holding back is just so exhilarating to me.

image
Each character is different. Each character has a secret or ten or twelve. And each character gets their own POV which was brilliant in my honest opinion. The truth is disturbing and a tad hard to swallow but it’s great nonetheless. Even if you guess what’s going to happen, the writing will keep you drawn to the story. There isn’t just one climax, there’s at least 10.
If you have marked this as “to be read” move it up, open it up, go to your library, check your overdrive, READ IT. Just do it.

Leave a Reply

